ATI Radeon HD 5770 Mac Pro 2,1 not work (FIXED)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dmayoort, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. dmayoort, Oct 5, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2012

    dmayoort macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #1
    Hi all.
    I have installed this card (bought at the apple store) but it does not work.
    The card is plugged but as "unknown".
    My Mac is 2007, 2,1 Quad Core Intel Xeon 2x3Ghz, and running OS 10.7.5
    Any idea?
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
  3. dmayoort thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #3
    Yes I did. And the fan works when the Mac is on
     
  4. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    Try also PCIe slot 2, and before you try, you could dust off both of them, slot 1 and 2.
     
  5. dmayoort thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #5
    I have tryed in both slots.
    Will It be possible I need to come back
    to Snow Leopard?
     
  6. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #6
    Take your MP with the video card back to the Mac store and see if they can make it work.
     
  7. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #7
    For 5770 / 5870 you must have at least 10.6.4+ installed for them to work, which means that they will work in 10.7.x and 10.8.x as well. If you did not experimented with system kexts, your OS should not be a problem.

    It seems like the card is faulty.
     
  8. dmayoort thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
  9. dmayoort, Oct 9, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2012

    dmayoort thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #9
    Hi.
    With the replacement one, now it works.
    But there is a problem... I have plugged two cinema Displays 30", one runs OK, but the second one (conected with an adapter from mini display to DVI) the max res output is 1280 x 800.
    Any way to fix it?
    Another question: Will it be a good idea to keep pluged the Ati Raden XT1900 as well??
    Thanks!
     
  10. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #10
    For two 30 inch displays you need Mini DisplayPort to DualLink DVI adapter. To use all three displays you need display port monitors, or active adapters. Single link acive adapters will give you only 1920x1200 resolutions. So, either way you need MiniDP to DL DVI adapter :(

    Mini DP to DVI
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB570Z/B/mini-displayport-to-dvi-adapter?fnode=53

    Mini DP to DL DVI
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB571Z/A/mini-displayport-to-dual-link-dvi-adapter?fnode=53
     
  11. dmayoort, Oct 9, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2012

    dmayoort thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #11
    Just bought the Mini DP TO DL DVI and works fine, thanks
    What do you think about keep pluged the old card??
     
  12. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #12
    I would keep it as spare. X1900XT is much noiser than 5770, and other than give you more video outputs, it would not speed up anything at all. Practicly, you would have higher temperatures inside the case and X1900XT will cover extra 2 PCIe express for nothing.
     
  13. dmayoort thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
  14. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
  15. MickvJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Location:
    the Hague, NL
    #15
    5770 + 5870 combination

    In your signature you state that you have both the 5770 and 5870 in you Mac Pro. I currently own a 5870 in combination with a GT 120 for Final Cut Pro which works fine, but for Davinci Resolve I need a Cuda based card like the 5770. I borrowed a 5770 from a friend in order to try it in combination with my 5870 but I also have the problem with the 3 power cables. How did you solve this? Did you use a splitter or the SATA option as mentioned above?

    The 5770 much cheaper than the 5870 so I don't mind spending that extra money but I need to be certain that this works according to my wishes. Thanks!
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    The 5770 is not compatible with CUDA. CUDA is proprietary to Nvidia and the 5770 is an AMD card.
     
  17. bax2003, Jan 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #17
    I used power splitter, 6-pin to 2 x 6-pin PCIe like this

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. MickvJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Location:
    the Hague, NL
    #18
    Thanks bax2003! I'm gonna find a place where they sell this cable or order it online somewhere and try it out!
     

Share This Page