ATI Radeon HD 5770 Support Changes

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cynicalone, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #1
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    I don't believe the 5770 was ever "supported", but the 5870 was.
     
  3. Cynicalone thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #3
    You may be right, I thought that they had 5770 support on the 09 for a while. And when I saw the new support document today in the RSS I thought I would post it.
     
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    We've been using the Radeon 5770 on our 2008 Mac Pro and works fine. There's also the users review in the Apple Store for Graphic Cards that says the 5770 works in older Mac Pros. I don't understand why Apple would release notes about this card not working with older Mac Pros.
     
  5. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Simple. They want you to buy a new Mac Pro instead. 5770/5870s work in all Mac Pros, but Apple won't provide actual product support unless it's installed in a "supported" system.
     
  6. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Thanks CaptainChunk and good point too. I guess Apple will have to offer reasonable lower priced Mac Pros in the future if they want more sales. I've also used iMacs but it's always the problem of yellowish or darkening on the corner of their screens.
     
  7. Tibbar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    #7
    Heh, just use the firmware utility to convert a MacPro4,1 (2009) into a MacPro5,1 (2010), and now suddenly the 5770 should be supported ;)
    http://netkas.org/?p=781
     
  8. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #8
    Well, there is the issue of no audio through the MDP ports on a machine older than a 2010 Mac Pro.

    This is probably what Apple means by "not supported".
     
  9. GlynJones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #9
    See post above. If you flash the firmware then you do have audio passthru.
     
  10. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #10
    True but it's not an "officially" supported way.
     

Share This Page