ATI Radeon X1600 Driver

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by I'mAMac, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #1
    If I wanted to download the latest driver for this video card, would I have to do it on the windows side or Mac side? Or possibly download the drivers for both? Thanks.
     
  2. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    If you are using Mac OS-X exclusively, all drivers are provided directly from Apple via software updates - there are no video card drivers from another source to download...

    If you are using Windows via Boot Camp that is another story.
     
  3. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    Oops, missed the thread location. Apple provides specific Boot Camp video card drivers that they guarantee to work which I believe are updated automatically and are available on Apple's website. Conversely, if you're feeling rather bold, you can uninstall the drivers you have and download the PC ones directly from AMD/ATI while in Windows and then do a clean install of the newest ones available. I have done this and have found that they actually work fine and increase performance, substantially.
     
  4. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #4
    Well I tried to just update it form the ATI site and it wouldn't download. WIll it only work if I completely uninstall the drivers? If so, where do I uninstall them? Thanks, i'm not as good with windows as I am MAc :eek:
     
  5. TheReef macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #5
    I think you just need to get them through the boot camp update. They are more likely to work and is the safest option. On a machine I was using, the update broke the graphics in games (running SP2), but once upgrading to SP3 it was all back to normal and performance was improved.
     
  6. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #6
    Ok I'll try that thanks.

    EDIT: I tried to download the latest Bootcamp 2.1 but it just doesn't open. ??
     
  7. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #7
    Is it possible that I need to download the older version of bootcamp first? Because I've never updated bootcamp since I bought my Mac about a year ago.
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    Can you not just insert the install or leopard disk if you have one while in widows that'll give you the original drivers ?
     
  9. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #9
    Possibly but they dont have the latest ones which I need. I'll try that.
     
  10. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #10
    Yes but once you have them installed from your disk you will be able to use the Apple software updater in windows that'll allow you to update to 2.1
     
  11. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #11
    Yeah nothing happens when I put the OSX disc in windows...
     
  12. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #12
    Thats odd as it should just auto run, try looking in my computer to see if you can run it from there
     
  13. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #13
    Would it just be easier to update them on the Mac side? Would they then be updated for windows as well?
    BTW it is an older Tiger disc-10.4.6
     
  14. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #14
    Nope their windows drivers so they need to be installed in windows, when you partitioned your HDD you basically created to completely separate OS's, i'm stumped as to why they won't install to be honest as i've never come across this problem before

    Edit you haven't installed a 64 bit XP version of windows as i don't think bootcamp supports the drivers
     
  15. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #15
    I didnt do the partitioning myself I had it pre-partitioned. And no im pretty sure I have a 32 bit. Is there anywhere to check?
     
  16. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #16
    Yep

    start > run > type winmsd then Ok

    check the value of the processors

    if starts with x86 it's 32 bit

    if starts with ia64 it's 64 bit

    I'm sure you have 32 bit also but i'm only trying to help and this is the only thing i can think of as to why your drivers wont install from the OS X disk, it doesn't matter who partitioned your drive the result is the same
     
  17. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #17
    Ok i finally figured it out. The drivers on the Apple site were not working and I had to go to the bootcamp section on the ATI site and it seems to have worked now. Thanks a lot for your help man.
     
  18. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #18
    Glad to hear you got things sorted in the end
     

Share This Page