ATI x1900 firmware update keeps failing!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gary huston, Oct 2, 2013.

  1. gary huston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Chesham Bucks
    #1
    I have been trying to update the firmware for my graphics card for ages and keep getting the same error. (see attachment).
    I have re-downloaded the file from several places and get the same result. Sometimes I get another error message about invalid file names. Anyone any ideas?
    I have a Mac pro
    Processor 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    Memory 8 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
    Graphics ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512 MB
    Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G63)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
  3. gary huston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Chesham Bucks
    #3
    What then?

    OK so it's a piece of ****, so what do you recommend?
     
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Hi Gary Sorry to hear about your problem. For other options, you can try Radeon 5770HD 1Gb vram, Nvidia 8800GT. If your budget is tight, the Radeon 2600XT will also work on a 1.1 Mac Pro. I had a 2006 Mac Pro and was using Radeon 2600XT. Just try to also avoid Nvidia 7300GT as it's also a weak card. I had 2 Nvidia 7300's that died. You will notice its design has no cooling fan.
     
  5. gary huston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Chesham Bucks
    #5
    Thanks Macsonic, I'll have a look at those..
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    As stated above, probably the Radeon HD5770, or for a bit less change the Radeon HD4870. IMHO, avoid the Radeon 2600XT, Apple had a recall on those, also not a very good card.

    Get the Apple versions of the cards or you'll need to flash them to see boot screens.

    Lou
     
  7. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #7
    If your card is still working, just keep using it as is until it dies.

    If the firmware update doesn't work, just skip the firmware update.
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    ^^^^With the flash not taking, the OPs card is showing signs of failing. The beauty of the MacPro is he can be proactive and replace the card before it fails completely. Why shouldn't he replace it with something better?

    Lou
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    Judging from the image on the original post, the firmware flashing utility is having difficulty locating resources or permissions are not correct. It doesn't say the card is about to fail.
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    The X1900 updater is designed to run in either 10.5 or 10.6, I don't recall exactly.

    My guess is if he wants it to have a chance at running, he would need a working install of whichever OS it was issued with.

    (would be on the info page at Apple)
     
  11. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #11

Share This Page