Atlona HD620 Converter/Switcher

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Flyer53, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. Flyer53 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #1
    Just received my HD620 converter/switcher so I can use my 27" I Mac as a monitor with my PC and still use my IMac via the command F2 button. The resolution is better than with the Belkin..but not what I expected..especially for the price. Any one have any suggestions, as I wait for Atlona support to return my call. The pictures seem fine..screen saver...it's the wording..Quickbooks, Word, Excel very blurry and fuzzy...Thanks
     
  2. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    So you use hdmi to connect your pc to the Atlona...
    Since the max resolution output is 1920x1080 pixels and the iMac's screen is 2560x1440 pixels, you would see it's not very sharp. Yes the Atlona uses upscaling for better picture quality, but the source remains 1920x1080 pixels.

    Maybe your pc isn't configured to output 1920x1080 resolution, check in the control panel.
     
  3. Flyer53 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #3
    Iv'e checked the P/C's settings and everything looks as it should be. I even tried to D/L the latest drivers. Unless there is some advanced settings ? Would a new/better video/graphics card make a difference ? Still waiting for Atlona to get back to me. I have spoken to tech support..but supposedly there is someone there that deals just with Mac's. Otherwise I'm getting the same as I was with the Belkin but for half the price.
     
  4. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    New graphics card won't make a difference. UNLESS it has mini-displayport output! Then you can connect the mini-displayport cable directly from your pc to the iMac, no Atlona needed! Configure the graphics crad to output the iMac's native resolution (2560x1440) et voila!

    But why don't you use Bootcamp? Is the seperate PC so important?
    If Bootcamp isn't an option for you (for whatever reason), a new graphics card with mini-displayport output would be the best choice. Since you don't need a HDMI to mini-displayport converter, you can return or sell the Atlona and the Belkin, and use that money for the graphics card.
     
  5. mikeg112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #5
    First I would recommend to see if your graphics card has a Dual-link DVI output. Currently HDMI out only supports resolutions up to 1920x1200. If it's single link then it is only capable of the 1920x1200 max resolution.

    Second, if it turns out you do have a Dual link capable DVI, then you'll want to get this Atlona combo for 2560x1600 imac resolution from your computer:

    Atlona AT-DP400, connected to an Atlona AT-MDP21.

    I would Google these model numbers to find out more info. With this combination you should be able to do switching, and run native resolution to your iMac from your PC. If you don't need switching then just go with the DP400 from Atlona. Hope this helps!
     
  6. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    He only wants to connect his pc to his iMac, the MDP21 is therefore useless since he doesn't has 2 mini-displayport sources.
     
  7. Flyer53 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    Thanks everyone...for your replies/suggestions...
    I was using..and the reason for the IMac was dual purpose. Getting away from a window machine and run parallels/Windows XP and ultimately Quickbooks. Over the past several months been having problems..Apple does not want to support anything on the partitioned side of the hard drive for windows..& most PC guys won't trouble shoot the Mac side.. Long story short the hard drive on the Mac went bad, along with some issues with parallels. Lost a lot on the windows side(my fault). So now trying to utilize the Mac as much as possible and still use the 27" screen with a windows machine.
    Can I purchase a graphics card for the desktop PC with a MiniDisplay port for a direct plug in to the Mac? I thought of bootcamp..but my understanding is thats a separate boot every time ?? I'm in quickbooks several times a day.
    I finally did get a call back from Atlona..but because of the time zones..missed it. Hopefully I will connect with them today. The Belkin has been returned. Not sure of the cost for the MiniDisplay port/card for the PC..the Atlona ATHD620 with cables..were $350.
     

Share This Page