ATT - 2.0 - Just jailbroke my iPhone 3G, but it deactivated... help, please.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Heirborn391, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Heirborn391 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    How do I go about reactivating my phone? I still have the ATT SIM card in it and I just want my phone activated with them. Sorry, I'm really new to this whole Jailbreaking thing and probably should've done a little research before I did it to my new phone.
     
  2. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #2
    iTunes will automatically tell you it needs to be activated or activate it immediately.

    Just leave it plugged in... its probably already sorted itself out by the time you read this! lol
     
  3. Heirborn391 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    Well... it's been about an hour and a half and I've reconnected the iPhone three times, but it still won't do anything to activate it. On the iPhone screen in iTunes it gives me the serial number, but no phone number or anything like that...
     
  4. yoavcs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #4
    In iTunes click Restore and let iTunes use the default (non-customized) Apple firmware.

    Once your phone is back to factory condition you can activate it.

    Then, re-jailbreak, and this time be a bit more careful what options you choose... Specifically, don't forget to click Yes to the "Are you a legit user" prompt.
     
  5. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #5
    OR

    Create a new custom firmware and click on "NO" when its asks if your a legitimate iPhone user and it will unlock and activate the phone.

    Alternatively you can select advanced mode and on bootneuter un-tick the unlock box and just make sure activation is checked then build the firmware and restore.

    It is better to restore with another custom firmware as that way you don't need to use DFU again - just the restore button and select!
     
  6. Heirborn391 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    Okay, I'm almost finished restoring it to the factory settings. Now my problem is with Pwnage... it won't find the .ipsw firmware bundle that's on the desktop which forces me to use expert mode to browse for it. And clearly I'm not qualified to use expert mode. Haha. Is there a certain folder that I should put the ipsw file so that Pwnage will find it using the simple mode?
     
  7. yoavcs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #7
    Make sure you rename the download to have only the .ipsw extension, remove the .zip

    If you are downloading it with Safari disable the "Open safe files" option in Safari prefs as that will screw the .ipsw up for your purposes (auto-extract it).

    Then just leave it on the Desktop.
     
  8. Aiphanes macrumors regular

    Aiphanes

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    South Texas
    #8
  9. Heirborn391 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #9
    Updated to 2.0.1 and it's working great now. Thanks guys.
     
  10. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #10
    Make sure when you build a new custom firmware you use the ORIGINAL APPLE firmware and NOT the previous custom firmware.

    I actually decided to restore my iPhone 3G again and this time when it asked if I was a legitimate user I clicked on "NO"

    When the phone started there was NO SIGNAL!

    It appears that if you click on "NO" then it activates the phone but doesn't give you a signal.

    I fixed it by making a new firmware and clicking on "Yes" when it asked if I was legitimate.

    I AM SURE that you clicked on the "No" or if you did it in expert mode clicked on activate which you should not on the 3G!
     

Share This Page