ATT no service

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by FastEddy, May 25, 2015.

  1. FastEddy macrumors regular

    FastEddy

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    North Californie
    #1
    Bought a new iPhone 6 for my wife at the Apple Store, new contract with ATT.

    36 hours and still no port-over from her old phone number. ATT service (?) almost non-existent and agents are apparently offshore and unable to make headway with ATT second level.

    Recognizing that it is the long Memorial Day weekend, our patience is still being stretched by this apparently simple service request.

    My Verizon and T-mobile friends all say they have issues on weekends, too, but one would think that a new ATT customer would be treated a bit better than this.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You obviously realize Its memorial weekend.
    Most likely you will have to wait till normal business hours.
    Being a new AT&T customer or treated better have nothing to do with it.
     
  3. FastEddy thread starter macrumors regular

    FastEddy

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    North Californie
    #3
    I'll give 'em until late this afternoon. That's 56 hours and should be plenty for a 20 second job. ... Enter this phone number, enter this confirmation, push the button.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    I know, everything is so simple you just have to push 1 button...
    I'd contact tech support now during normal business hours and they should be able to figure it out for you.
     
  5. FastEddy thread starter macrumors regular

    FastEddy

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    North Californie
    #5
    It turns out, getting unstuck from Sprint was the problem. I had physically go to a Sprint shop and show my ID to get my pin number reset so I could make changes = cancel one of our accounts ... so then ATT did it and I'm happier.

    The peculiar deal is that I never set a pin number on the Sprint account at all and the Sprint phone support would not take my answers to the "security questions" as proofs.

    The whole deal with tech support with any/all telecoms apparently hinges on "security questions" and pin numbers.

    The poor customer is forced to wade through several layers of phone trees and "specialists" to get any kind of changes accomplished on any account.

    All I wanted to do by changing to ATT was to get a better signal at home. Out here in Taxifornia, the telecom wars are still in full blow ... (No, none of the telecoms here have fully implimented WiFi into their cell phone/cell tower systems, so in spotty coverage areas one must choose between the lesser of two or three suppliers, gritting teeth all the way.)
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    Sprint has had PIN numbers for accounts for at least the last five years if not longer. If you never gave them one, they would have assigned one by default. If you login to your Sprint account (as a customer) you can change the PIN online as the PIN is not necessary to access your account online.
     

Share This Page