att store rep replaced my sim card...bricked my iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by thetourist, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. thetourist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #1
    well, its a really expensive ipod now!

    they replaced the sim card to try to resolve an issue with my edge just flat not working, and it says "invalid sim, please connect to itunes to reactivate iphone"

    support has no idea whats going on, only that my new sim is tied to my phone and my account as it should be.

    any suggestions?

    its such a shame, a shame worth writing a long letter to apple about, that the iphone is such a beautiful device (the best i've ever used by far), but its tied to such a horrible horrible knownothing company like att wireless. its really a shame, because people are going to say the iphone sucks when they have problems, or likely that apple sucks...and its not the case. it casts the people who poured their lives into making this device in a horrible light.

    well, i WAS on with a att rep that just hung up on me. that's the 8th person today.
     
  2. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #2
    So you did what it asked, connected to iTunes, and??
     
  3. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #3
    it just brings it up as if it were a brand new phone. won't let me access anything to 'reactivate the iphone'
     
  4. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #4
    It should bring it up as a new phone if the sim is new. Go through the process and it should activate and be fine.
     
  5. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #5
    its already been activated. i've already got a number and a plan etc. it errors when i do anything related to already being a customer.
     
  6. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #6
    So iTunes wont activate it????? Confused. The new sim disabled it. iTunes should be able to reactivete it.
     
  7. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #7
    i went prepaid which makes it so the iphone activation within itunes won't work properly with it, so the rep on the phone is saying that i have to go back to the corporate store and have them work it out there.

    haha this is a nightmare.
     
  8. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
  9. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #9
    through itunes, but apparently to reactivate a prepaid iphone, it has to be done at a corporate store. i dont know, its ridiculous that they don't have this stuff ironed out on day dot.
     
  10. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #10
    Pre-paid accounts are always a pain. I avoid them now after dealing with PrimeCo! You should not need to go into a store. An account reset and manual entry of the EMEI and sim card number should reset the account. But the iPhone itself needs and unlock. If I were to go to a store, I would try an Apple one first.
     
  11. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
  12. korndog2003 macrumors regular

    korndog2003

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Keyser, WV, USA
    #12
    Dude just calm down and go to the corp store tomorrow they will get you straitened out.:)
     
  13. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #13
    the only solution is as follows

    reactivate...new number...fund the new account...get my current account's minutes transferred.

    or i could take the iphone back and write a letter to steve about "you can make the most amazing tasting piece of chocolate ever conceived, but if its on a mountain of ****, its not gonna work out very well."

    :\
     
  14. princealfie macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #14
    I won, 3 SIM cards later my iphone is working! :)
     
  15. thetourist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #15
    my iphone now works again. but i had to thrash through 4 sim cards, reactivate my iphone, get them to change my minutes from one prepaid account to another, and now where i'm at is:

    everything's fine, after having gotten a new number. except that the iphone unlimited data plan is ON my account, its just not active and since att customer service is closed on sundays (wtf?) i have to wait til tomorrow for that to go through. so they will credit back the ridiculous cost of the data usage i'm incurring.

    it'll be fine. oy. finally.
     

Share This Page