Carrier ATT users, please help

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Aluminum213, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. Aluminum213 macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #1
    If I order an iPhone 6 with ATT from the apple website but use another number for the upgrade, will I have trouble transferring that phone to my number when I pick the phone from the store?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Swap the sim cards and reinitialize the phone and you should be all set.
     
  3. Aluminum213 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #3
    Thanks, and all of this can be done at the Apple store?
     
  4. its Dale macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    LA California
    #4
    ATT gives you an option to use an upgrade from another line on your account
     
  5. Aluminum213 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #5
    Not when ordering from Apple.com
     
  6. pdxmatts macrumors 65816

    pdxmatts

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I ordered from Apple.com and used my sons line on our account for the upgrade. Giving him my i5. Received the i6 with a new sim card inside. Activated the phone with that sim for the line (sons phone number) I ordered it on and then took my 5 sim and put it in the new phone and then put the i6 sim in my i5 for my son to use. Worked just fine.
     
  7. Aluminum213 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #7
    What if the person whose upgrade I'm using isn't there for me to switch the sim with?
     
  8. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    DO not turn on the phone with the included SIM or it will move the service of the upgraded account to that phone and kill the other person's SIM. Remove the included SIM and put your SIM card in the phone before you turn it on.

    I would also call AT&T to confirm the IMEI and SIM card numbers are coordinated.
     
  9. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #9
    Nope. But can't you transfer the upgrade to you number and then pick up?
     
  10. pdxmatts macrumors 65816

    pdxmatts

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Well, he had a 4S where the sim was not the same size, so I activated it that way so that he will have a nano sim to use in the i5.
     
  11. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #11
    I can confirm. Just switch the sim cards.

    It doesn't matter if you activate them or not, the phone will reregister on the network fine.

    I did this with my 6 and 6+.
     
  12. Aluminum213 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #12
    Great. Thanks
     

Share This Page