Attached Monitor down to Sub VGA Colors

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bmcgonag, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I was working in Bootcamp on Windows. Screen changed from millions of colors to 16 color or something horrible.

    I rebooted into OS X, looked fine, then changed to 16 color. I have re-installed OS X Leopard and still 16 color.

    The external connection works fine when connected to an external monitor.

    Any suggestions on how to fix this would be great, as my warranty is out, and I don't want to have to buy a new logic board at almost $1000.

    Thanks,

    Brian
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    When you reinstalled, was it a straight reinstall or an archive and install? Did the screen look fine while installing? Did you try changing the setting is the Display Preferences? How does it look in greyscale (using the accessability options)?

    TEG
     
  3. bmcgonag thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I did a straight install, tried adjusting in display prefs, tried the accessibility slider, no better. Already set to normal. Grayscale, not much different as far as definition of icons, backgrounds, etc.

    I'm feeling pretty hopeless at this point.

    Brian
     
  4. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #4
    We had this happen in the studio I work at, and it turned out to be the monitor was just dying.
     
  5. bmcgonag thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    were you able to replace the monitor alone? If so, how much?

    Thanks,

    Brian
     
  6. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #6
    Well, sadly, I'm referring to an external monitor ... not a monitor on a notebook. Sorry!
     
  7. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    It would help if we knew what model this was. If it is under a year old, you can just get Apple to replace it.

    TEG
     
  8. bmcgonag thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Unfortunately it is the Core Duo version, and just over 2 years old now. I pre-ordered after the intel chip announcement in early 06, or late 05.

    I really hate to have to spend a grand on a new logic board, and there is no-one within a 5 hour drive that works on apple computers.

    Any further help or suggestions are welcome and appreciated.

    Brian
     
  9. bmcgonag thread starter macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    For those interested, I did find this site

    www.macservice.com that can apparently replace the monitor about half the cost of the logic board, and 1/4 the cost of an entire new MBP.

    Hope this helps anyone else who runs into this on their built in screens.

    Brian
     

Share This Page