Attempting to Make a G4 DA Work - With Failure!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gavinstubbs09, Jun 5, 2016.

  1. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #1
    So I grabbed my 466MHz DA out of the closet, I originally purchased this machine on April 15, 2014 for $5 from a guy in Santa Cruz (who lived right up the road from the famous Mystery Spot in SC). Worked great and after a while I shoved it into storage.

    I planned to make this a great writeup story with it's new GPU and SATA hard drive but that failed quite miserably.

    Machine would kernel panic whenever I booted off of a Tiger disc (tried 2 DVDs) and after messing with memory I was able to make it beep so I swapped RAM again (with 6 different sticks) until it stopped beeping. I also removed everything inside the case so all it would have was the optical drive as the only accessory, and unfortunately it would still kernel panic. Swapped in a different IDE ODD to no avail. Then I plugged in a SATA disc drive, it would try to boot and again a KP.

    I did find out that I had to press the little button on the motherboard every time to make it boot up.

    So, does anyone have any idea what I should try next to make this thing work? If not I'm just going to gut it and use the case.
     
  2. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #2
    You seem to have covered all the bases I can think of.
    For want of anything else to try, try a different PSU?
    Then the CPU daughter board?
     
  3. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #3
    Unfortunately I have neither a spare PSU or another G4 laying around. I think sadly I'm just going to gut it.
     
  4. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #4
  5. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #5
    Don't gut it yet! Surely someone on here must have a better solution?!
     
  6. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #6
    Last night it would require using the CUDA switch after every time I unplugged it to make it boot. But maybe someone does have a solution, this thing put a dent in my evening!!
     
  7. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #7
    Really sounds like a PSU issue. Maybe adapt an ATX psu for the task?
     
  8. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #8
    How far off plug and play is an ATX PSU, assuming that for a test, you wouldn't necessarily need to close the door?
     
  9. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    The ATX plug is 20 pin vs. 24 pin like the DA PSUs. Aside from the lack of +24V in your typical ATX PSU(which isn't necessary for any G4 unless you want to run an ADC display), one other important difference is in the fact that the pinouts are quite different vs. ATX.

    Beige G3s could actually use an ATX PSU by switching a jumper on the logic board...unfortunately that's long gone.
     
  10. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
  11. tdbmoss macrumors regular

    tdbmoss

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I assume you've made sure it has a working battery inside? I have the same machine and it would KP when trying to boot the Leopard DVD until the battery was replaced.
     
  12. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #12
    I'll find another clock battery and test it then I'll try modifying a power supply. I do have one out of a B&W but no clue if the pins are the same.
     
  13. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #13
    Sure as s*** you were right. I took the battery from the MDD board I pulled out earlier today... and it booted the Tiger installer!

    Anyone have a processor upgrade they want to sell for this thing?
     

Share This Page