Attention Mac experts !!! Help Newbie with iMac G5 PLEASE !!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Travelbliss, Sep 30, 2007.

1. Travelbliss macrumors newbie

Hello mac experts,

I am a newbie to this forum, and I am currently on my windows laptop :( , because my iMAC G5 refuses to power up. At first, the white button would attempt to light, then the power would die. It's been a few days, but when I push the power button, absolutely NOTHING happens....

I had this problem about 2 years ago, the computer was still under warranty, and I dragged this computer (huge, 20 inch screen) in it's entirety to Apple, where they kept it for about 3 weeks. I believe at that time, there was a problem with the logic board, and the bill would have been around $830 (at least that's what the invoice said)....

Fast forward to now....I don't have ProCare, so I'm assuming it will be $$$ to take it back to Apple. Can you experts tell me if this is a common problem with the G5s and would taking it to a serivice center like CompUsa save me some bucks.....If it's only the question of a battery, is that something that I could do myself? Anyone else have a G5 that had this experience??

Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions......

2. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

I can't speak to specific issues with the iMac G5, but if you should decide to take it to a third party (other than Apple) for a repair, I'd caution you against CompUSA. I've found their technical people to be less than stellar, especially when it comes to Macs.

3. disconap macrumors 68000

disconap