Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ataylor2009

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 27, 2009
I'm relatively new to Core Data. I'm trying to piece together a small application using the technology, mainly for learning purposes. What I have is this:

I have a group of people. Each person carries a phone. Each person answers their phone on a schedule, which they submit in advance. None of the schedules are synchronized (i.e., one person's schedule does not affect any other person's schedule; there may be several people all answering the phone at any given time, or there may be no people answering their phones).

What I would like to do is display in a Table View a list of all currently active people. In other words, look at the object "Bob," and if "Bob" has volunteered to answer his phone from 3pm to 6pm, and it's currently 4pm, then show "Bob" in the list. If it's currently 230pm, don't show "Bob" in the list (until 3pm, then add him to the list). Lather, rinse, repeat for all people objects.

Twist: How to handle days of the week (i.e., "Bob" answers the phone from 3pm to 6pm Monday thru Wednesday, but only from 3pm to 5pm Thursday and not at all on Friday, Saturday or Sunday).

As ever, thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

HiRez

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2004
Western US
I guess you could make an entity Call Window or something, that stores a start date/time and and end date/time. You could maybe use NSDate/NSCalendar, or to keep it simple you could just use an int (0-6) for the day and an int (0-23) or float for the time, or just a single int containing seconds in a week, or whatever you want for repeatable schedules. The point is it stores the start time and end time range for the window during the week.