ATV 3 and ASUS RT-AC3200 Router

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by dgbarar, May 23, 2016.

  1. dgbarar macrumors regular

    dgbarar

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    #1
    Hello All,

    I recently purchased an ASUS RT-AC3200 router. While I am able to wirelessly connect my all of Apple laptops and iPhone there are a number of devices that I cannot wirelessly connect--among them is an Apple TV3. I have re-booted both the router and the ATV3 but I am unable to establish a wireless connection.

    Does anyone have ideas as to what to try next?

    Cheers,

    Donald Barar
     
  2. Mac... nificent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #2
    Excellent router. Are you trying to set Apple TV up as 2.4 or 5g? 2.4 is preferred.
     
  3. dgbarar thread starter macrumors regular

    dgbarar

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    #3
    Hi M,

    I have tried the 2.4 GHZ and both 5 GHZ bands. All generate a failure connect error. And it is not just the ATV 3. I have a number of devices that will not connect (Honeywell Thermostat, Sony TV, Logitech Duet, to name a few).

    Donald Barar
     
  4. Cat Dancer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    #4
    I installed the ASUS RT-A87U about this time last year. I had a an ATV3 that just never worked right with the AirPort Extreme. I tried again with the new router and had no idea what I'd been missing out on.

    Fast forward to 2 weeks ago. While in a Best Buy, I found an open box AT3 for $10 less than new. I was skeptical but went ahead and bought it. I wasn't sure why it was returned so I did the iTunes Reset before trying to pair it with my WiFi system. I bought it to use with presentations on an Epson EX 7240 while on the road.

    After the iTunes ReSet, it opened up clean and was instantly working when I paired it with my WiFi system..

    I believe the first ATV3 I bought over a year ago had to go through too many updates. By doing the Reset through iTunes with the newest unit, it did all the updates and was ready to be paired. The Reset did take about 15 minutes. I did not see any progress bars and was concerned it was just siting there doing nothing.

    As for this generation of ASUS Routers, there are many setting options in the console. Take some time to see if this is where your current issue resides. Try saving your current settings and then revert the router back to Factory Defaults and see if this ends up working for the other products you mentioned that are not responding to your WiFi LAN.

    Stick with and you'll probably get it working.
     
  5. dgbarar thread starter macrumors regular

    dgbarar

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    #5
    Hi Cat,

    i was looking for more of the "magic bullet" other that just play around with the settings in the router.

    All,

    Anyone else have this experience with not be able to wirelessly connect an ATV3 to ASUS RT-AC3200.

    Cheers,

    Donald Barar
     
  6. Cat Dancer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    #6
    Hey Don,

    I know you're looking for real quick solution. I just took another look at the specifications and CNET review for our routers and they are virtually the same.

    The first ATV 3 I tried to set up a year ago was a very frustrating experience. Once I set it up with the ASUS router, it came to life.

    With the ATV 3 I bought last week, I expected issues so I read the enclosed instructions a few times and learned that by ReSetting it via a Micro USB cord, make sure it will handle Data, the first one I used did not, and connecting it to my Mac and used iTunes to ReSet the ATV 3, it instantly and flawlessly found my WiFi LAN and allowed me to proceed with connecting it. (While in the iTunes connection, there was very little in the way of progress notation and I did experience a few Time Outs before it finally took the ReSet.)

    I revisited my Router Console Page today also to refresh my memory about the various settings I have enabled or not. I did discover I had not UpDated the Firmware which I did do today.

    Usually, it is the simple and little things that hang us up when we're in a hurry or not quite seeing the obvious in our rush.

    I would encourage you to try the Micro USB/iTunes ReSet for the ATV 3 and then see if it doesn't respond as it should. This will take it back to Factory Reset and then install the current OS Version. Probably why it took so long, even when connected to the Mac at 5GHz and only 8 feet from the router. In this location, I've been getting 110 to 140 Mbps so I believe the ATV 3 is slow to receive, digest, and install the actual OS updates. And the USB connection is probably USB 2. Stuff takes time to get through to the end.

    I was going nuts with this last year and just knew it had to be easier than it was for me. I certainly feel your frustration and hope you can work through it.
     

Share This Page