ATV 3 + mirroring

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Yakuza, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. Yakuza, Sep 3, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012

    Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #1
    So here's the thing.

    My girlfriend gave me today an apple tv 3, and i'm trying trough air parrot mirror the desktop to the tv.

    I have two wifi routers, the second one is for extending the signal from the first one, i have both iMac and atv3 connect to the same wifi network but even so the air parrot isn't capable os detecting atv3.

    Is it because of the different type os routers?

    Can someone help me?

    Thank tou guys

    PS: i have Lion on the iMac, will that be a problem?

    PS2: i've read that the fact of having Lion is not the problem...so...stil don't know what the problem is
     
  2. Yakuza thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
  3. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #3
    Well this is easy enough for you to answer yourself. Turn off the extending router so everything connects to just one router and try it. If it works, then there is your answer. If it doesn't then try asking Air Parrot support.
     
  4. Yakuza thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #4
    the problem is, the office router is behind 60inches or so of wall, and the reception is pour if not impossible.

    Is there a way to make the same connection by hardwire?
     
  5. Cinephi1e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Northwest Ohio
    #5
    I think why no one has answered is because there are too many variables when it comes to wireless networking. We also do not have much information about your network. If you have a very specific question we can answer it, if not you are better off having a friend with networking expertise to take a look at your network.
     
  6. Yakuza, Sep 4, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012

    Yakuza thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #6
    I only asked because being the same wifi network, despite the fact that i am using two routers instead of one, if that could be the source of the problem.

    i guess i have to do some more work lol :rolleyes:
     
  7. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #7
    Fine, but we are talking for he purpose of testing, can you not move your Mac temporarily as to ascertain what need to be done next?

    Here is one thing you may/can do right now (I don't have parrot, just raw tech knowledge). Can you not tell parrot, my ATV is at address IP x.x.x.x rather than have it automatically discover it? Hey we all want ez but sometimes...
     
  8. Yakuza thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #8
    I have sent an email to the Air Parrot support and they told me both ATV3 and iMac should be connect to the same router, and they also told me that it's possible to connect the ATV3 with ethernet cable, to the same router the iMac is connected.

    So, that's the road i'll go. And problem solved
     
  9. Yakuza thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #9
    Just to let you know, i connected atv3 to the main router (by ethernet) as the iMac is connected...and worked flawlessly. :D
     
  10. schlitzz macrumors member

    schlitzz

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA "Home of the Bremaloes!!"
    #10
    Flawless victory......
     

Share This Page