ATV 3 starts; but doesn't show menu

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by theslaz, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. theslaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary; Alberta; Canada
    #1
    I have a ATV 3 that has been giving me problems. Yesterday it worked fine; today; I rebooted because Netflex wouldn't work; and now all that is showing on the menu is two icons; "Computer" and "Settings"! I have tried rebooting several times and the same two icons show.

    This has happened several times before; but I was always able to get it back by rebooting.

    Any suggestions
     
  2. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #2
    I'd try a DFU restore.
     
  3. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #3
    This also happened to me a few times. I went to the Settings and normally when I was back everything would be back to normal.
     
  4. theslaz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary; Alberta; Canada
    #4
    Tried that several times. Even changed some settings. Didn't help this time!

    ----------

    I know that would work; trying to stay away from that as I have a script loaded on it that runs my Plex in conjunction with the trailers app. I would have to reload. But that is what i will do if I have to.
     
  5. davidoloan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #5
    When Apple TV doesn't have a network connection it shows only "Computer" and "Settings".

    This is probably a problem with your router.
     
  6. theslaz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary; Alberta; Canada
    #6
    Thank you. That fixed it. Why it didn't have a connection is beyond me. It showed that it was connected; but I had to delete the connection and start over. And yes; I had rebooted the modem!

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page