ATV 4 Master Volume?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Dimwhit, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #1
    Anyone know if there's a master volume output for the ATV4? Everything on it is about 4x the volume as my TV when I'm watching satellite. Games, Netflix, Hulu...it's all REALLY loud. If I forget to turn down the volume after switching from TV, I get a nice loud surprise.
     
  2. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #2
    it sounds like your satellite might be quiet. the aTV just sends dolby digital without any volume corrections*

    make sure there's not a volume adjust on your satellite box.
    make sure the remote you use when watching satellite is adjusting the TV volume, and not the satellite volume.

    *there is the "reduce loud sounds" option, but that tends to make it quieter overall.
     
  3. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #3
    Yeah, you must have been using the satellite box gain control as a volume setting and pumping up your TV's volume to compensate.

    Grab your satellite box remote and restore the gain back to full loudness, or a couple of notches below if it distorts.
     
  4. Dimwhit thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #4
    I'll have to figure out how to do that. I'm pretty sure my satellite remote is controlling the TV volume, but that doesn't mean it wasn't done when I first set it up. Thanks all.
     
  5. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5
    there may be buttons on the satellite box itself

    or google the model of your remote, there will be instructions on how to change which device controls your volume, you may have to change the remote to the satellite, then back to the TV once you get it.
     
  6. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #6
    Just use the volume control on the remote.
     
  7. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #7
    read the quote you posted

    If his remote is controlling the TV volume, how is he supposed to "just use the remote"?
     
  8. thisisnotmyname macrumors 65816

    thisisnotmyname

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Location:
    known but velocity indeterminate
    #8
    my Apple TV roughly matches the volume of over the air and Netflix on my TV itself. I haven't noticed a large discrepancy.

    That said, for home sharing I do believe you can adjust volume on a title by title basis (in case one file is overly loud or soft) but I don't know of anything that would globally offset the volume.
     
  9. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #9
    Ah, I see what's confused you. The decoder's gain control is easily mistaken as the volume setting.
     

Share This Page