ATV hookup - not enough ports!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Alaerian, May 28, 2011.

  1. Alaerian Guest

    Alaerian

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
    #1
    I'm "okay" with hooking up my entertainment shtuff, but I could use some pointers. I just picked up an ATV1, and I'd like to get it hooked up to my TV. I'm not running any type of surround sound right now - everything is through the TV. I don't mind it.

    Right now, I've got the following:
    • Wii, hooked up with Component
    • PS2, hooked up with Component
    (Both of the above use the audio cables of the Red-Yellow-White crappy cables, whichever two colors those are)

    I have only TWO sets of Component inputs on my TV, and no HDMI (I learned that the hard way after buying an HDMI cable). My TV does have a DVI port - I think that's what it is, the large-ish white one.

    What would be the best way to get everything hooked up using the most logical "priority?"
     
  2. roidy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    Has the TV got a VGA port, or does the DVI port accept a VGA signal. If so I would connect the Wii to the VGA/DVI port thus freeing up a componant port for the ATV
     
  3. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Alternatively, you could try using a component input switcher and put your Wii and PS2 on it.
     
  4. Alaerian thread starter Guest

    Alaerian

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
    #4
    Well, I'm not entirely sure what that is ><

    And as far as a component switcher, where would I find one of these? Any idea how much they run?
     
  5. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
  6. eTip macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #6
    I would suggest doing a little research to find out for sure what that "large whitish" input is. Start by looking in your owner's manual. If you don't have it - Google your tv model # and you can likely come up with one. Also, take a look at those Google results from your tv model # - and perhaps add a few relevant terms (Apple TV, HDMI, component) and you will likely see discussions that may lead you to a solution. Or perhaps more importantly, away from something that won't work.

    Even if that is a DVI input, an HDMI to DVI cable might *typically* work but not always. Case in point: I have an ATV1 set up in my home office - primarily to act as an Airport Express to stream music I the room. Since I had an extra DVI input on my main LCD, I figured why not hook up the ATV to that. Couldn't get it to work at all (the input worked fine from other sources). So, I tired an *older* LCD (using the same HDMI to DVI cable) & it works fine.

    At a minimum, let people here know your TV model & describe it a bit (tube, projection, LCD, etc.).
     

Share This Page