ATV unresponsive after Update to 3.0 and 3.0.1

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by GRuizMD, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. GRuizMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    Have used my AtV for a few months, I have seen that after the Updates to 3.0 and 3.0.1 my ATV gets unresponsive if not used for a period of time, The blue light does not change to remote input and iTunes does not see it.

    Only solution had been to unplug - Plug ATV. Google showed This and This and This

    but no reports here seem quite strange. Had no issues in previous versions of the software... Anyone experiencing this?

    Thanks
     
  2. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #2
    The light on my Apple TV is white, but yes I'm having the same problems. Currently, in the process of doing a factory restore and then upgrading from the restored firmware (1.0) to 3.0.1.
     
  3. GRuizMD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #3
    Testing a solution

    My research on the various posts on the net show a common denominator, HDMI connection, is that your case?

    If that is correct, your resolution is probably 1080i, That was my case, I took it down to 720p, some users have stated that this may the culprit...

    Im testing now, so far no problems will report here.

    Somehow Apple introduced a bug on the latest release of 3.0 and 3.0.1 with HDMI and 1080i....
     
  4. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #4
    I've always used 720p, and restoring then upgrading back to 3.0.1 worked for me.
     
  5. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

    Scott6666

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
  6. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

    Scott6666

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #6
    Factory restored to 1.1 and loading back my files. Loading great, about 1 song per second hard wired.

    I don't think I can upgrade to 2.x from here. Does anyone know how to avoid upgrading all the way to 3.0x?

    I don't rent so I guess I can live with it again at 1.1 for a while mostly just to play music.
     
  7. bocat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Location:
    New Hope, Pa
    #7
    I did the factory restore and then downloaded the latest version and so far so good.
     
  8. hualon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #8
    I came here looking for some help regarding my HDMI connection. The ATV automatically updated to 3.0.1 and I haven't been able to see any video since.

    I'm using the HDMI connection and had a resolution of 720p set.

    I tried different cables and different ports on the TV. No video.

    I switched to component cables and I can see it fine with 480i or 720p.

    What gives? Unplugging power doesn't fix it.
     

Share This Page