ATV1 Coming off Standby on its own

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by macpeach55, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. macpeach55 macrumors 6502

    macpeach55

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Germany, & the Rest of the known World
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an ATV1 & ATV2, the ATV1 I use for watching the movies bought through iTunes without having to stream from my Mac. About once a week I will find the ATV1 has turned on, I presume checking for updates. Of course it takes only a moment to put it back on standby but until I notice its the Hard Drive is on for no reason, wearing itself out bit by bit.
    The ATV2 will turn off automatically after a while if it is not being used, but I cannot find a setting to make the ATV1 do this. Any solutions from anyone, bar unplugging the power totally from it between uses?
     
  2. rayward macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #2
    I don't think anyone has found a way to turn off an ATV1 - that makes it STAY off - without yanking the power cord. It's frustrating because of the HDD wear and the amount of heat the units puts off, but there doesn't appear to be a solution and, because it's now superseded, there's unlikely to ever be one.
     
  3. macpeach55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    macpeach55

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Germany, & the Rest of the known World
    #3
    Hi there,

    Ok, thanks - I was afraid that was the case, but worth seeing anyway if I was missing something!
     
  4. mrweirdo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    #4
    yeah that seems to be the case. Mine does that as well. So I've been unplugging it however its a pain in the rear to do so. So I find myself rarely using my apple tv anymore :(
    To be honest I wish they put power switches on these things like the boxee box has.
     
  5. marzer, Feb 28, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012

    marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    I have. Use a master controller power strip, most are pretty inexpensive. Can be found online or at the hardware store. Plug the TV into the master outlet, and the ATV into a slave outlet. When the TV is powered on and off, so does the ATV.
     
  6. HellDiverUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    #6
    If you can work a screwdriver, just fit an inline switch to the power cord. I have one designed for a lamp on mine, saves plugging and unplugging all the time.
     

Share This Page