ATV2 can now change between 50/60Hz output

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by peterjcat, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #1
    A big deal if you have a range of framerates in your content.

    You can also choose a range of resolutions, still topping out at 720p though.

    Even the old remote shortcut works!
     
  2. NiklasK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  3. kiranmk2 macrumors 6502a

    kiranmk2

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #3
    What happens with 24fps stuff? I'm thinking HD downloads/rips and prog scan R1 DVD rips?
    The best option would be to auto-detect the source and adjust on the fly - my library contains 24 fps R1 DVD rips, 25 fps PAL and 30 fps NTSC material!
     
  4. peterjcat thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #4
    Settings -> Audio & Video -> TV Resolution (right down the bottom). Or press and hold Menu and UP on the remote control.

    Auto framerate detection and adjustment would be great, but this is a good start. If you have 24fps material, select 60Hz, as the conversion is better. I hope that when we get a 1080p ATV3 it will offer 24Hz output as an option (you can't have 24Hz with 720p over HDMI).
     
  5. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    What do you mean by a "range of resolutions"? If it still tops out at 720p what other resolutions are there?

    Do they support 480p? That didn't use to work, although it may depend upon your TV and setup (it's never appeared as an option for me)? I'd be happy with just 480p since my TV doesn't support 720p (only 480i/p and 1080i).
     
  6. peterjcat thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #6
    480p is now a selectable option, as well as 1024 x 768, 800 x 600, 640 x 480 -- could be handy for older screens maybe.
     
  7. PilotWoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #7
    Yeeeeeeeeeeehhaaaaaahhhhhhh!

    At last. AppleTV on order :)

    Screenshot please??
     
  8. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Well, 480p if really selectable under all conditions would be really great. However, I'm pretty sure that I've seen reports about 480p showing up on some earlier software releases but it was spotty, not all TVs/setups seemed to offer that option. In the past I think 480p support was almost a kind of "bug," some seemed to get it and others didn't.

    Can anyone else confirm that 480p works for them? What I mean, does it now work when you know for certain that it wasn't previously an option on your ATV2.
     
  9. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
  10. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Based upon this thread and other reports, no, it's limited to 720p and below.
     
  11. peterjcat thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #11
    No 1080p of course. But I do hope that this option is a precursor to an ATV3 that will let you choose a range of resolutions up to 1080p.

    As far as I know, until now there's never been an option to select any resolutions from the ATV2 menu: it would always decide for itself what resolution to send, which sometimes would mean 480p but not reliably so.

    Now it doesn't ask the TV what it wants or can do (unless you choose "Auto"), it gives you the whole list to choose from and will display options that your TV can't display (e.g. 480p at 50Hz -- I don't think that's even a valid timing, it should be 576p at 50Hz).

    Screenshot:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    I wonder what it is set to as a default? If it selects 720p that will still prevent some TVs from working because there will be no way to select 480p or anything else (since if the Apple TV defaults to 720p you won't get any UI/video so that you can change the resolution). They should default to 480p since that is the lowest common denominator (at least for NTSC).

    I'll have an opportunity to try this within the next 48 hours, since my Apple TV 2 is currently at a different location (not with my 480p/1080i HD-ready TV).

    By the way, thanks for the update and screen shot.
     
  13. heliocentric Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #13
    At last! Had to get rid of my atv2 because it kept outputting at the wrong Hz (60hz when I needed 50Hz due to watching Uk material).

    Took them long enough, atv2 was useless to me without this option.
     
  14. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    I can confirm that with the newest software update that the Apple TV 2 does work with 480p, widescreen TVs. I have an old Sony HD-Ready HiScan projection TV that doesn't support 720p (480p and 1080i only) and as long as you can get into the Apple TV menu to select the 480p resolution then it will work without your TV having to run at 720p.

    The only problem is that it appears that the Apple TV resolution defaults to "Auto" which may mean that it will try 720p first, or maybe even default to 720p. I had to hook the Apple TV to a 720p capable device first and then switch the unit to 480p. It seems to remember that setting even with a power down, so maybe it only has to be done once (I hope).
     
  15. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    Ohh goody!!

    Now if my HDMI to Component cable will just work my pre-HDMI tv may just have got an extension in life!!
     
  16. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    I'm using an HDMI to component CONVERTER, not just a passive cable. I'm pretty sure that the output from the Apple TV 2 is digital only, so you'll need an active signal converter if your TV doesn't have an HDMI input. It also has to handle HDCP correctly or Apple's copy-protected video will not work (i.e. no iTunes movies or TV and the same is probably true for Netflix streaming).
     
  17. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #17
    Great - time to start ripping some TV show DVDs :)
     
  18. skywalker0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    #18
    Yes.

    __________________
    Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
     

Share This Page