ATV2 HD Tag now missing

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ibglowin, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. ibglowin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    #1
    Anyone else upgrade to an ATV2 and notice the "HD" tag on your HD movies and shows is now absent?
     
  2. wmealer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #2
    Yes, I've noticed this as well. Although any new encodes I've added, since starting to transcode using MKVTools + Subler, do display the HD tag on ATV2.
     
  3. ibglowin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    #3
    So do you think it's the MKVTools or the Subler that is making the ATV2 "happy"?
     
  4. wmealer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #4
    Not sure, actually. Still experimenting with the workflow, trying to get a playable file in as few steps as possible. Subler does have a "HD video" checkbox when the file gets saved. But not sure if that's what does it yet.

    Lots more experimenting to do ...
     
  5. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #5
    The HD logo shows up on all of my HD encodes, but I explicitly set it using Subler when tagging.
     
  6. wmealer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #6
    I guess I attribute that to the ATV1 recognizing the video resolution, without regard to metadata. Maybe the ATV2 doesn't do this, and relies solely on tags?
     
  7. jajohns8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #7
    None of my encodes show the HD logo when using the ATV 2.
    ATV 1, no problem.
     

Share This Page