ATV3 wifi signal dropping :(

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by amitabhbansal, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. amitabhbansal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #1
    friends
    i have just upgraded the Apple TV 3rd Gen with the new upgrade 5.1 which is the latest and after upgrading its dropping the wifi signal continuesly, is anyone facing the same problem or i have to re-install it again?
    please help
     
  2. Jlbd10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #2
    I have the 5.1 version installed and I didn't notice any dropping with my wifi signal
     
  3. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #3
    i am talking about the build 5.1 version 10A406e, after upgrading this i am facing wifi dropping signal
     
  4. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #4
    Don't use Wi-Fi, its speed is much-much inferior to even Apple's other product (e.g., the iPad 3).
     
  5. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #5
    It maybe coincidental. What have u done to troubleshoot your WIFI/Internet environment?
     
  6. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #6
    i have tried replacing my wifi router with various routers but still the same problem, i have searched the net and found that many of the peoples are having the same problem maybe its a bug kind f thing
     
  7. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #7
    friends its gonna so much time, spend hours on experiment on things but didnt find out the solutions,
    Sometimes it playes the video flawless from iMac Itunes, but sometimes while playing the video it stops in few minutes like 2-3 minutes and says disconnected from the network, i have tried reseting my router but didnt find out the solution, please help my guys
     
  8. freediverdude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #8
    This has been going on for quite a while now, and basically the only thing to do is to reboot your router each time it happens. There's been a lot of discussion about this already, but I hope Apple does some kind of fix, because it's getting really irritating to have to restart my router every time I want to use the iPhone as the remote. It seems to have something to do with iTunes Home Sharing needing to be on, but falling asleep or getting disconnected a lot.
     
  9. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #9
    Ya there are lots of peoples facing this problem, now i have downgraded it to 5.0.1 and will check if it works or not
     
  10. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    There was a thread on this a while back. Seems like a lot of people solved the problem by using wifi instead of ethernet. Not sure how you guys are hooked up, but if you're using ethernet, you may want to try wifi.
     
  11. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #11
    dear i am using wifi only and all these problems are coming from wifi
     
  12. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    Use the product as intended :rolleyes:

    Move it closer to your router, the issue is one of a poor quality WIFI card with no antenna because antennas are ugly and who would want to live with an antenna.

    Apples solution is for you to buy another Apple product and extend your Apple ecosystem with an Airport Express, all the Apple lovers are doing it, its the coolest :rolleyes:
     
  13. amitabhbansal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    #13
    my Airport Extreme Dual Band Base Station is touched with ATV3 now what you will say?
     

Share This Page