ATV4: NowTV (UK) geoblocked

Discussion in 'Apple TV Apps' started by Cobb, Nov 5, 2015.

  1. Cobb, Nov 5, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015

    Cobb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Has anyone tried to use the "NOW TV" app from abroad with a smart DNS server? I am using dns4me but keep getting the following message:
    Error
    Content geo blocked (1301)
    Also the dns4me support mentioned NowTV is currently not supported.

    I thought about AirPlay from the iOS NowTV app (via VPN) but its working neither:
    Sorry, we don't support HDMI streaming to your TV from mobile devices.​

    Any recommendations for other smartDNS services or any other thoughts?
     
  2. MrTemple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, BC
    #2
    I could test it with unblock-us (terrific Canadian solution for geoblocking, but it works for US folk too). But I'm guessing the NOW TV app is only available from the UK app store? If so, I'd have to set up a UK iTunes store account, and that seems like real work.

    Probably easier is for you to try unblock-us.com. I believe they still have the 'no-signup' one week free trial. So it should be a pretty quick test for you.
     
  3. Cobb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I got the app from the UK apple store, sure. Otherwise I would not be able to test it on the ATV4 ;-) Also got a valid subscription for NowTV. I just found a thread indicating NowTV should work with unblock-us
    https://support.unblock-us.com/customer/portal/questions/612345-nowtv
    Too bad I subscribed to dns4me already but thanks for your advice!
     
  4. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
  5. Cobb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Thanks! Will consider this service as well when my dns4me subscription ends.

    Anyone knows which domains I have to set to UK using the dns4me "custom domain feature"?
     
  6. MrTemple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, BC
    #6
    Just created an iTunes UK account. UnblockUS works with NowTV and TVPlayer with no configure needed.
     
  7. Cobb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Thanks for sharing! Still hope dns4me will get this sorted as well soon.
    Anyone any hints on how to get NowTV working with dns4me, too?
     
  8. Pushkar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SW London, UK
    #8
    Cobb, I use dns4me and the owner Jason is usually quite quick to fix any problems; which has been the made reason why I've stayed with them instead of going for one of the 'bigger' DNS providers. Maybe drop them a support ticket?

    Now TV works for me with dns4me, but I am based in London so of course it would.
     
  9. Albi90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #9
    Hi Cobb

    My names Jason, I'm the creator and owner of dns4me. We currently don't officially support NowTV, but i will be happy to add it for you. I'll run some tests today and let you know when it's up and running.

    Thanks
    Jason k
     
  10. Albi90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #10
    Hi Cobb

    Just a heads up I managed to get the web version of NowTV working, I wont have access to and ATV3 or ATV4 for another few hours so I cant test that yet, but if you want to try it out yourself you can use our nifty custom domains feature, just login to the dns4me user console and go to custom domains then add the following domains pointing to the UK server

    www.nowtv.com
    cdn3.optimizely.com
    watch.nowtv.com
    services.nowtv.com

    Also make sure you have our DramaFever service disabled this shares the cdn3.optimizely.com domain.

    Thanks
    Jason k
     
  11. Albi90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #11
    Hi Cobb

    Now TV is now supported on ATV3 and ATV4 just enable the now tv service from the dns4me user console and enjoy.

    Thanks
    Jason k
     
  12. Cobb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    Thats great news! Many many thanks Jason! Works like a charm now :)
     
  13. Cobb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Hi Pushkar, yes I had a ticket and first reply was "sorry not supported currently" but I am really glad it got sorted now and NowTV is working abroad now, too.
     
  14. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #14

    Excellent hands on customer service.... and fast fix!!

    Nice work.

    https://dns4me.net/pricing




    //
     
  15. pjh macrumors regular

    pjh

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Airstrip 1
    #15
    I can confirm the iOS app works with NowTV using dns4me. NowTV made some sort of change, preventing it from working, I submitted a ticket to dns4me and they had it running again in 10 minutes! That's real service.

    I'm now a very happy, paying customer.
     

Share This Page