ATV4 remote volume problem

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by EltonT, Feb 27, 2016.

  1. EltonT macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #1
    Need help, my remote is longer able to control the volume anymore...
    I'm outputting my audio through Bluetooth (Sony BM10)
     
  2. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #2
    Ps. I've replaced my monitor for my Apple TV today, could that be related?
     
  3. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    I tried connecting the Apple TV back to my old monitor and volume control came back.. Does anyone why this is happening and is there any way to fix it?
     
  4. nullman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #4
    Are you controlling the volume via IR? If so, just "learn" the new device. Settings > Remote and Devices > Volume Control > Learn New Device...

    If the volume is set to Auto and it's doing it via HDMI, I am not sure. Did you try restarting your Apple TV while connected to your new monitor? Or, maybe turning Volume Control Off and then back to Auto?
     
  5. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    It's on Auto and my monitor doesn't have its own remote control. I've also tried restarting and reconnecting everything.
    I can actually set the volume but only through "Settings > Audio and Video > Volume"
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    How old is your HDMI cable?

    I like the Monoprice 18Gps slim cables.

     
  7. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
  8. ajforbes20 macrumors regular

    ajforbes20

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
  9. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
  10. Hermes Monster macrumors 6502a

    Hermes Monster

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
  11. Lumpy05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    #11
    The sad truth about HDMI-CEC is that although its a standard it is far from it. Some devices work and some don't. You can train the Apple TV remote to do IR volume if you have the TV's remote, but it sounds like you don't? I think I saw in one of the beta TVOS threads that apple is working on better support so it may get resolved with an update.
     
  12. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

Share This Page