Audio CD -> best format...mp3, flac or...?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by parajba, Aug 17, 2008.

1. parajba macrumors 6502

Hi everyone,

I'm in the process of buying a new high end pair of in ear headphones (super.fi 5 pro) and I would like your advice re encoding techniques and audio formats.

I've heard that the mp3 technique is optimised for space and not for quality, and, even though is an excellent algorithm for compressing music files for the majority of people, there are better methods (e.g. flac) out there with quality as a main goal.

Recently, while surfing for info on the new headphones, I came accross the FLAC algorithm.

I'm fairly new to the Mac OS, and totally new to the FLAC or 'different from mp3' music files. I literally know nothing about it.

I'm able to use iTunes, I can rip CDs setting bit rates and basic iTunes settings, and I would like to make a step towards a better quality format.

Is it just a question of installing the right plug in (in iTunes) and let iTunes do all the work and do I need to pla around with different encoding/coding sw and then iTunes? I used iTunes and I own an iPod. And I'm quite happy to stick to iTunes...

Can somebody summarize the situation for me and give me an advice? How does a flac file look like? what's its extension? can it be played in iTunes directly?

Thanks heaps!

2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

convert everything to AAC and you'll be fine.

i prefer using variable bit rate, i dont know what the por's think of it but its fine for me and it reduces file size (i have too many files and not enough space!).

flac is too wierd for me, i prefer an apple standard.

3. MisterEd macrumors 6502

I'm pretty sure iTunes doesn't support flac. (filename .flac)
    Depending on how much hard drive space you have for your music, you might want to take a look at ripping into apple lossless format.