Audio issue and I've done some searching...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Drag'nGT, Jul 2, 2010.

1. Drag'nGT macrumors 68000

Drag'nGT

I've been moving TV shows from my TiVo to my computer for a few months. 1hr of HD is about 3.3gb and I'm trying to get that cut in half.

Just so you guys know the workflow so you can properly help me let me layout the path.
    TiVo -> iTivo (takes the .tivo package off and puts it in mp4) -> MPEG StreamClip (remove commercials) this program doesn't touch the file format at all that I can tell because it's really fast at re-saving my file as an mp4. After that I have a perfect TV show with NO issues. It's just a big file. Now I'm sticking it in HandBrake to "shrink" it.

After it comes out of HB the audio is fine for a little while and then it's off by 1 sec then it's back in sync, then it may go out again by 3 sec all in the same video.

My HB settings are
    Format: MP4
    Video Codec: H.264 (x264)
    FPS: Same as Source
    Quality: I just chose Average bitrate set at 4000
    Picture Size is kept same as source. Some are 720p some 1080p
    No picture cropping

Audio:
    Unknown (AAC) | Stereo Mix | Auto Samplerate | Bitrate 128kbps

So am I correct in assuming that HB (my incorrect settings) are causing my problem? I stole a few settings off the HB forum but they all are discussing DVD rips. I didn't see a thread discussing how to shrink an existing mp4 file.

I have found another program called QT Sync that can fix my screwed up HB file. But I'd rather have you guys tell me I'm setting something up wrong so I can just Queue up some vids and let it run.

Thank you very much for your help.

2. huntercr macrumors 65816

YIKES. If you must send this to handbrake ( and I don't know why...MPEGstreamclip did it all for you already ) Don't save your movie as mp4 from MPEGStreamclip... save it as Apple Intermediate Codec ( AIC ) before you send it to handbrake.