Audio Level Meters

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jkaz, Feb 5, 2009.

1. jkaz macrumors 6502

Hi,

I'm trying to make a link between all of my audio level meters from FCP to STP to my monitor speakers.

What I am hoping to find is an apples for apples meter that I can hand hold at my listening position to calibrate the output level of my speakers to match the levels on my FCP projects.

So, if I have a test tone in my timeline and it is reading -6dB constant,

I want to have an audio meter in my hand that tells me what my speaker level output is at so that I can raise or lower the volume to match that -6dB example.

I've done some snooping, but I am initially concerned that I am not looking at apples to apples comparisons when it comes to measuring units.

I'm no pro when it comes to audio, but i'm doing my best to improve!

Thanks,

Jeff

2. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

Not possible.

For recorded materials, -6dB is in relation to the clipping point for the device. 0dB is clipping.

Unfortunately it has no relations to sound measurement in real life.

3. jkaz thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the response.

How do I then know what the 'actual' level being output is at?

4. bimmzy macrumors regular

bimmzy

Firstly, standard line up for digital audio with video is 1kHz at -20dB (-18 in Europe), so most speech should also be around the -20dB mark or a little above using your FCP metering.

Secondly, absolute audio levels in a "box" are not absolute relative to those in nature (in air).
    Play your line up through your speakers turning your amp volume up or down until it feels comfortable. Then if you can, play some speech through the system remembering to adhere to the -20dB rule (in FCP), if it feels about right for your ears, you have then set the right overall level.
    ;)

5. AceWilfong macrumors regular

AceWilfong

Not very glamorous,