Audio selection within MakeMKV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Dave84, Oct 8, 2013.

1. Dave84 macrumors newbie

Hello all,

Brand new mac owner here and just registered on this incredibly informative site (please be gentle).

Anyway, I have a couple of questions if i may regarding ripping blu-ray with MakeMKV for use with my Apple TV 3.

I am new to this whole process but after reading through numerous threads on here I think I have got all the main bases covered. However, considering my sole use for the rips (ran through HB ATV3 pre-set after ripping) is for the ATV, when selecting the audio tracks MakeMKV presents after the initial disc scan, do I need to tick the lossless audio (DTS-Master etc) or can i just select the DTS 3.2.1 core? I believe the ATV is unable to decipher the HD audio streams regardless but wondered if just selecting the core audio reduces files size and/or ripping time by MakeMKV? If the difference negligable I will continue ripping the lossless track (currently ripped around 6 blu rays).

I hope the above makes sense and if anyone can answer I would be most grateful.

Many thanks

2. mic j macrumors 68030

Just check the DTS-HD. The core is contained in it and HB will use that to transcode to Dolby Digital. It's also a good idea if you archiving the mkv as all the original info will be there.

If you haven't done it already, I would also suggest you set the minimum track length to 1500 seconds. This will eliminate many tracks and make track selection easier.

3. Dave84 thread starter macrumors newbie

Many thanks for the quick response. If the choice of lossless does not effect rip time I shall do as you advise.