Audio Spiking in video - How can I reduce/remove this?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by twiggy0, Apr 10, 2012.

1. twiggy0, Apr 10, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2012

twiggy0 macrumors 6502

Hello MacRumors community! :)

I am an avid videographer. I recently filmed a music video for a good friend of mine with a great voice using a 5D II and a rode video mic.

The problem I have is that the audio recording gets somewhat distorted when she is singing the chorus, while her voices pitches high. Sort of like a screeching static noise.

Would anyone know a program I could use to edit this to reduce or hopefully remove these spikes? I'm editing it in Final Cut 10, and also would be able to use audacity to edit the sound file if that could do the trick.

Any help would be much appreciated!

EDIT: Here is the link containing a sample of the music video. It's 1 minute long. The last 10 seconds have noticeable spikes in audio.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBx5KwTsfVE&feature=youtu.be (watch in 1080p for best audio quality)

While I'm at it, any criticism on the actual video would be welcomed with open arms. How could I have improved it? (Apart from the spikes obviously :p)

2. simsaladimbamba

Did you record on an external audio recorder? Is the recording analog or digital? If it is the latter, and the levels peak too much, there might not be much you can adjust, except some audio engineer magic I have only seen once or twice, but can't explain, as audio is not my main field.

And if you want to upload a sample, YouTube might not be the best, unless the audio is already included in the video source file. If it is an extra .wav file you have, if you recorded externally, then a sample of that .wav file would be better.

3. twiggy0 thread starter macrumors 6502

I recorded with this microphone:
    http://www.amazon.com/Rode-VideoMic...9SOC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334126305&sr=8-1