Audio-Technica ATH-M40x won't plug fully into Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by tech4all, Sep 6, 2016.

  1. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #1
    Just got a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-M40x, but the 3.5mm connector doesn't fit well in the front audio port of my 2008 Mac Pro. Is this a known issue? They fit into my iPod Touch just fine, so I'm sure the issue is the Mac Pro audio port. I have another pair of headphones that fit fine, and the Audio-Technica connector fits fine into another port I have on another pair of speakers.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Could be a difference in the size of the plug itself.

    Do you happen to have a "headphone extension cable" around?
    That is to say, a cable that has a male connector on one end, and a female connector on the other?

    Plug the new phones into the female end, and the other end into the Mac Pro.
    Does it make a difference?
     
  3. tech4all thread starter macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #3
    Thanks for the reply, @Fishrrman,

    In regards to the "headphone extension cable"...yes, that's exactly what I have from my previous set of headphones. I was able to use that as a fix. The Audio-Technicas plug into the female end of the extension cable, and the extension cable's male end plugs into the front audio port my my Mac Pro.

    Thing the thing, and I know I said it in my first post, the Audio-Technicas plug into my iPod Touch and other set of speakers that have a 3.5mm headphone jack perfectly. For some reason the Audio-Technicas don't fit into my Mac Pros port, yet my previous set of headphones do. Odd...
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #4
    If you found a solution that works, I'd stick with it (even if clunky).

    What works... works.

    Sometimes it's not worth pulling your hair out, otherwise...
     
  5. tech4all thread starter macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    True. My dad did look at the two 3.5mm connectors on both pairs of headphones and he said part of the connector on Audio-Technicas were at a slightly different size than other pair of headphones, but the problem only occurs with the Mac Pro port...

    ...I dunno...

    Thanks for your suggestion though!
     

Share This Page