Audiophile Rookie - where to start?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by 3JL, Nov 8, 2016.

1. 3JL macrumors member

Dear all,
    I am an audiophile rookie with very limited practical experience. I was wondering whether it would make sense to buy an external DAC considering the following:

- I use Spotify Premium with qualities set at 'extreme'
    - I have ordered the new 15" MBP
    - I have an M-Audio Studiophile AV-40 speaker set

Would it make sense to buy an external DAC? Or doesn't that add anything to the MBP DAC in this setup? Or in other words: what at this point is really the limiting factor? (Sound quality, DAC or speaker set)

Thanks!

2. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

BrianBaughn

The most limiting factor is the quality of Spotify. I don't know the AV-40s but my guess is they'll sound pretty good for Spotify.

Your question comes down to whether a (probably USB) external sound device will improve playback over the built-in 1/8" jack. I'm sure it depends on the device but I'm thinking most reputable ones would provide a small improvement.

3. 3JL thread starter macrumors member

Ok, Thanks! Indeed I was talking about a USB DAC versus built-in jack.

So my best bet is to first upgrade to e.g. Tidal and then consider e.g. a USB DAC?

Thanks!

4. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

BrianBaughn

I'm sure there are WAY better forums out there to get such advice.

One question though: How are you going to be listening? The AV-40s are "nearfield" monitors and are meant to be sitting right in front of you on the desk, basically. If that's how the bulk of your listening will be then you're OK in that respect.

5. 3JL thread starter macrumors member

That indeed is the case! Thanks.

6. HDFan macrumors 6502a

I guess the first question is what your definition of "audiophile" is. There is a good article about HD-Audio here:

http://www.audiostream.com/content/...cking-tracks-mark-waldrep#aL1m3zw6qV5UKUfF.97