Audiophile upgrade on a budget

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by SteamedGiraffe, Nov 30, 2010.

1. SteamedGiraffe macrumors newbie

I've been thinking about updating my setup. I am currently running Apple Lossless files directly out of my Macbook Pro into my NAD 3225PE Amplifier, and then from there to my B&W 685s. I also play CD's using a TEAC PD-200 player running directly into the Amplifier.

I am willing to spend about $500, and here's my question:

What would the best use of my money be? Should I upgrade my CD player, my sound card, my computer output, my cables...? :confused: I'm relatively new to the audiophile scene so any help would be really appreciated :)

-Giraffe

2. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

easy: treat your room.

buy 4 of these for $280 and pocket the rest.

or spend a bit more and get some of these for $200 each, and place at your first reflection points (left/right/ceiling).

3. SteamedGiraffe thread starter macrumors newbie

those look awesome...but I have more trouble with treble (heh, no pun intended) being wayy to resonant in my cell block-like dorm room. All the walls are cement blocks. Is there anything like that to reduce overwhelming (peircing at times) treble? I know how the tweeters in my speakers are supposed to sound, and it's different from what I hear in this room :p

4. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

they're called bass traps, but they're actually broad-spectrum. they'll help to tame the higher frequencies, as well.

if, after installed, you're still having high freq problems, then you can add a bit of absorption. i don't like starting with that, as it's easy to overdo it and turn everything into mush.

i forgot to say it above, but the 4 traps should straddle the 4 corners of the room, or the best approximation thereof. i've got (iirc) 13 traps in my (small) control room, plus one diffusor and 3 absorption panels.

it works very, very well for hearing detail and separation.

5. Mord macrumors G4

Mord