Aurora Feint updated to 1.0.1.1

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by chrisb3, Sep 2, 2008.

  1. chrisb3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #1
    Get it here.

    Not sure of what's updated (iTunes is still showing 1.0.1.0 on the app page), but a trip to their forums at www.aurorafeint.com will sort that out.
     
  2. *GG* macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    I have updated and it has wiped my game to date and put me right back to the beginning starting from scratch. :eek::(
     
  3. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #3
    :eek: Okay, I'm waiting then!
     
  4. jcde7ago macrumors 6502

    jcde7ago

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    This happened to me as well with the first update. But this time, instead of updating through iTunes, this is what i did, and it did not erase my progress:

    1. If you have Wi-Fi at your house, turn it on (unless you get decent 3G coverage). This is so that you'll have access to the internet.

    2. Open up Aurora Feint. Either mine and level up, or solve a Magic book puzzle, build a blueprint, do SOMETHING that will progress your character. When that's done, go ahead and exit Aurora Feint. We do this because when you progress in the game, it syncs your account automatically with Aurora Feint's servers, saving your account given that you had access to the internet.

    3. Go ahead and open up the AppStore on your phone, and dl + install the Aurora Feint update THROUGH YOUR PHONE. Leave it alone for like 10-15 minutes. When it's completely done installing (no beachball anywhere), turn your phone off.

    4. Turn it back on, everything should be as it were, and Aurora Feint will be updated and your progress should not have been erased.

    Hope this helps anyone else hesitant to update - do note that while this has worked for me, as well as a couple people i know, your mileage may vary. :cool:
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    You may find that shortly you will be restored. Your progress is available remotely, and their forums have a place where you can either have them push your stored progress to you or simply merge your old progress into a new phone if you change phones.

    TEG
     
  6. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #6
    I've lost all sound within the game since the update. Fortunately, it hasn't affected the sound anywhere else.

    Deleting and re-installing has only made things worse by erasing all my progress.

    Not happy... :mad:
     
  7. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #7
    I updated mine through iTunes. Then I turned my Touch on, and opened Aurora Feint (I was at home, so WiFi was on). The opening screen popped up, with a message saying it was contacting the server. Then the game started right where I'd left it off.

    I may, however, reset my character anyway, just to replay the game to see if anything changed -- wasn't having much of a luck building blueprints with the previous version, so don't have much progress to lose in any case. :p

    Did you check your sound settings? It's in the main "settings" menu for the iPhone / Touch, you may have to scroll down past all the other settings (like WiFi, Brightness, Video, Photos, Safari, etc) to get to it.
     
  8. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    On the Aurora Feint Forums, is step-by-step instructions to roll back to 1.0.1.0. Then all you have to do is to play for a little bit, then manually download (by finding it in the App Store instead of using the Update system). Once that is done, you will have your progress (from the servers) and the update.

    They have also updated the software to have a page in Settings to control sound and volume.

    TEG
     
  9. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #9
    Thanks. That did it. Although my sound and music were both supposed to be "on", I had to turn both off; play for a bit and then turn them back on. I don't mind playing through again. Well, not much...
     

Share This Page