iPod 'Australian' iPods; Volume Restriction

iWantAMac

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 6, 2003
255
0
AUS
Does anyone know if the iPods that we recieve here in Australia would be the same as the units distributed throughout Europe?... And thus, have the volume restriction.

Thanks
 

iWantAMac

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 6, 2003
255
0
AUS
I had already downloaded goPod (program for unlocking restricted iPods) and when I opend it it said my iPod was 'capped'. So naturally I used it and it then said it uncapped my iPod (2G, 4GB Mini). :confused:

Has anyone ran goPod for a factory-unrestricted iPod (eg. one bought in the US)? Does the program say that it is restricted, even though it isn't?

I must say though. Since "uncapping" my Mini, I really can't tell a difference.
 

mfacey

macrumors 65816
Feb 1, 2004
1,216
0
Netherlands
iWantAMac said:
I had already downloaded goPod (program for unlocking restricted iPods) and when I opend it it said my iPod was 'capped'. So naturally I used it and it then said it uncapped my iPod (2G, 4GB Mini). :confused:

Has anyone ran goPod for a factory-unrestricted iPod (eg. one bought in the US)? Does the program say that it is restricted, even though it isn't?

I must say though. Since "uncapping" my Mini, I really can't tell a difference.
Hmmm my ipod (see sig.) is from the US. I just ran GoPod for the hell of it and it indeed said that I had a "capped" ipod. Weird. I guess that basically means that the program can't see the difference between a capped and uncapped ipod and just installs its "crack" everywhere. :confused:
Very strange indeed.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,777
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
mfacey said:
Hmmm my ipod (see sig.) is from the US. I just ran GoPod for the hell of it and it indeed said that I had a "capped" ipod. Weird. I guess that basically means that the program can't see the difference between a capped and uncapped ipod and just installs its "crack" everywhere. :confused:
Very strange indeed.
I think the goPod site explicitly says that it'll also work on US iPods. I think that the firmware pops a cap in all of them (sorry, I had to find some way to work the phrase "pop a cap" into this thread :D), with respect to the maximum hardware amplified capabilities. But I don't think the effect on the US iPod is dramatic, unless you're using big reference over-ear headphones, in which case, because of the big drivers, the iPod will not be so loud even at 100%.

Or, if you want more volume and you don't want to sacrifice battery life by maxxing the amp, try in-ears if you don't already have them. With buds, I find the iPod too loud above about 75%, even in the noisiest environments, based on my personal "safety criterion." With in-ears, 55% is more like 75% with buds.... (With big reference headphones, 100% is more like 50-60% with buds! :()
 

iWantAMac

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 6, 2003
255
0
AUS
SpaceMagic said:
What the hell is iPod capping? and is mine capped?!
European iPods have a volume cap from the factory that restricts the amplifier, not allowing you to exceed a certain volume and use the amplifier to it's full potential.

Seeing as you're in Wales, give it a run and see if you like it :) ;
http://gopod.free-go.net/index_en.htm
 

StarbucksSam

macrumors 65816
Nov 21, 2004
1,427
0
Washington, D.C.
mkrishnan said:
100 dB? Great! :) I feel like somehow this should be co-marketed with the Darwin awards.... :rolleyes: Well, again, unless you're using reference headphones or something else that produces much less volume per mW of output.
LMFAO. That is SCARY. That's LOUD.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,777
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
StarbucksSam said:
LMFAO. That is SCARY. That's LOUD.
:D

To go in quite the opposite direction, I noticed that, even in an only moderately quiet room (i.e. with some machine hum), I can use my in-ears at the very lowest possible volume setting on the US iPod and they're still acceptable. :eek:
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,199
5
Adelaide, Australia
mkrishnan said:
:D

To go in quite the opposite direction, I noticed that, even in an only moderately quiet room (i.e. with some machine hum), I can use my in-ears at the very lowest possible volume setting on the US iPod and they're still acceptable. :eek:

Same for the Aussie spec ipod I've got. In fact, in lectures, other people can hear sound coming from my ears when I've got it on the absolute lowest setting possible. That's with the standard phones though, not the in-ear ones which might not be so intrusive.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,777
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
mad jew said:
Same for the Aussie spec ipod I've got. In fact, in lectures, other people can hear sound coming from my ears when I've got it on the absolute lowest setting possible. That's with the standard phones though, not the in-ear ones which might not be so intrusive.
Really? :eek: Are they quite loud at lowest settings? Mine is *not*. I wouldn't believe someone if they told me that about my iPod with either earbuds or in-ears, unless maybe we were in an isolation booth at the time.
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,199
5
Adelaide, Australia
mkrishnan said:
Really? :eek: Are they quite loud at lowest settings? Mine is *not*. I wouldn't believe someone if they told me that about my iPod with either earbuds or in-ears, unless maybe we were in an isolation booth at the time.

Yeah, no kidding. It is pretty strange but it was a fresher subject so absolutely nobody was making a sound. They're all too frightened to speak during lectures. Man, I feel so old in those classes. :(
 

Sedulous

macrumors 68020
Dec 10, 2002
2,385
1,658
My iPod (1st gen) has a different issue: After waking the iPod, the volume is shifted up compared to where the meter indicates. After wiggling the jog dial a tiny bit, the volume lowers back to where it should have been. Weird but tolerable.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,777
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sedulous said:
My iPod (1st gen) has a different issue: After waking the iPod, the volume is shifted up compared to where the meter indicates. After wiggling the jog dial a tiny bit, the volume lowers back to where it should have been. Weird but tolerable.
Have you tried a hard reset? That's some serious weirdness. :(
 

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.