Auto Import Utility.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by paulclark, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. paulclark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    #1
    Hi to all in this group.

    I have a little problem that I hope somebody here maybe able to assist me with..

    Reference to - Auto Importing Images.

    Apple Powerbook G4 OS X 10.5.8

    Due to having Firewire connectivity, I've recently got a Powerbook G4 for direct use with my digital camera, also having a Firewire port.

    I simply just wish to preview images automatically, full screen without having to manually import them from the camera.

    Apple's Image Capture utility can see my camera when connected, it will download images to my mac but only when I manually tell it to.
    I gone through all the preferences to setup auto import.

    Having bought and Installed Capture Control Pro from Nikon, thinking this would rectify things, but again, it won't auto download from the camera.

    I've looked at how to set up a tethered DSLR, looked at all the basic settings, systematically been through all preferences on both software to set auto import images, I've created a folder on the desktop and pointed the software to look at that when images have been taken, it all seems straight forward to understand and to setup, but something is not quite right to get things working how I want it too.

    The Nikon software can see and control the camera when connected, but that too won't automatically import the images, only download manually.

    Having done some searching on the net, I've found out that on the powerbook itself there should be a two files from within System File Folder called Importimage.bundle & Autoimport.app

    Having checked this, I can only see Importimage.bundle ??

    Autoimport.app seems to be missing ?

    Could this be the problem, a missing system file that is preventing the image being previewed automatically and preventing the software from working properly..

    If so, how do I rectify this..

    Any idea's please.. Thanks, Paul.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Hi Paul. I've never heard of Autoimport.app. Maybe that's an Intel only app. IDK.

    Here's another idea though. What about Dropbox? Dropbox (later versions) has the capability to see your DCIM folder and it will auto import any images from any device that connects to a Camera Uploads folder that it creates in the Dropbox folder. It will ask you about this the very first time and you can check a box that tells it to do it automagically from then on any time a device connects to your Mac.

    A Dropbox account is 2GB, but Dropbox is promoting this whole camera thing so the more pictures you upload the more space over time Dropbox will give you (up to 6GB). Additionally, you have a Dropbox account which you can use among all your Dropbox capable devices. That means your photos would be available on any device that can run Dropbox. Any device that doesn't have Dropbox but can access the internet can get on Dropbox's site and you can then view your pictures that way too. And your photos would also be in the cloud. Backed up and safe, so to speak.

    So, I don't know if that will work for you or not, but there it is.
     
  3. paulclark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    #3
    Autoimporter.app

    Hi Erik,

    Thanks for the reply..

    I've had a look at Drop Box that you mentioned, that looks something that would interest me, but for my immediate interest I just need to preview images straight off the camera as I shoot automatically.

    I do mobile photography, home portraits, so an Internet connection for Drop Box is not always guaranteed in peoples homes plus I would have to ask for there wep key. That could be a problem.

    Just trying to get the Powerbook to act as a big preview screen as I calibrate and configure my lighting setup prior to shooting. As I shoot I just want the image to automatically be previewed on the laptop so I can easily asses the shot.

    Surely this is possible, prior to getting the PowerBook, I used a Windows XP based laptop tethered via Nikon Capture and that worked seamlessly.

    I've tried various demo software and none of them will auto import images, so I think it maybe something to do with the Powerbook OS X

    Thanks for your suggestion though, appreciate your help.

    Regards..
     
  4. michaelbbateman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    #4
    Why doesn't auto import auto import

    Hello Paul,
    Yes, I don't see why this is such a hard problem to solve. Autoimport won't import unless I click a button, which to me isn't auto. This used to work and despite my best efforts all I can do is find answers to the question how can I get autoimport to STOP working.

    Please let me know if you found your answer elsewhere and I will try and do the same.

    -Michael
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    Have you had a look in Preferences for the application? I do not use the program so I don't have any other possible solutions.
     
  6. michaelbbateman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    #6
    Select Autoimport.app

    Altemose,
    I must confess that after posting that I was able to answer my own question. For the benefit of anyone similarly confused in the future, there is a setting at the bottom left of the application itself that let's you specify an action. Selecting Autoimport.app did the trick like it is supposed to; I was thrown off by the fact that you can select a default import folder, and since mine was 'Autoimport' I thought I had correctly specified the app when I only had the folder 'Autoimport' selected. Thanks all,
    -Michael
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    I am glad that you got it running and that you are putting that PowerBook to good use. Many people overlook these PPC Macs these days while sadly they only use them to do today what they were made for 10 years ago.
     
  8. ifrit05, Jan 19, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2014

    ifrit05 macrumors regular

    ifrit05

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Near Detroit, MI. USA
    #8
    Open Automator, choose custom, and create this workflow:
    [​IMG]
    ("Rename Finder Items" is optional, it's up to you if you want to add that)

    Now save that as an application somewhere on your HDD.

    Open Image Capture, open it's preferences, and where is says "When a camera is connected, open:", choose other in the pull down and locate the app/workflow you just created.

    if all goes well when you plug your camera in the next time your Mac should automatically copy any photos to your Pictures folder and open them with Preview. The only thing it wont do is view them in fullscreen, you have to do that yourself.

    EDIT:
    I don't think this will work dynamically i.e. you have to shoot a pic, then connect the camera each time to view the pictures... Better then nothing right?
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    ifrit05, the OP did solve his question. That being said, that Automator workflow may be of great use to someone in a similar position. Thanks for posting.
     

Share This Page