Autocad - Parallels MVWare - Windows

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hcpa, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. hcpa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #1
    Hi everyone

    This is driving me crazy

    I bought a 27 inch iMac, Quadcore with 16 GB.
    I have installed Autocad with Parallels and MVware. I have a problen with the mouse, it runs slow. I have tried everything!!!!

    All the other programs run exelent!!

    Any suggestion?

    I do not want to install CAD for Mac since in not as good as CAD for Windows.

    Thanks
     
  2. Pgohlke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Centerville, Ohio
    #2
    what about bootcamp?
     
  3. hcpa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #3
    Bootcamp is a great solution but I wanted to run all my programs with mac os.

    That is why I bought a powerfull computer.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    But running Windows and a graphic intensive application via a virtual machine will not be made better with a faster machine by that much.
    AutoCAD somehow relies on the GPU, using a virtual machine are two additional layers added to the communication between application and GPU, therefore the sluggishness.
    Normally AutoCAD speaks to Windows and Windows speaks to the GPU, but you have added VMWare Fusion and Parallels Desktop and Mac OS X into it, which is why AutoCAD now speaks to Windows, Windows speaks to VMWare Fusion or Parallels Desktop, they speak to Mac OS X and Mac OS X speaks to the GPU.
     
  5. hcpa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for your explanation.
    So what do you recommend?

    I there any solution besides bootcamp?

    I have seen autocad running smoothly on a 21 inch iMac and on a Macbook pro. Could there be a display setting I can modify?

    Thanks
     
  6. SuperCachetes macrumors 6502a

    SuperCachetes

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Away from you
    #6
    It is likely a setting that needs to be changed or a driver glitch that needs to get unstuck.

    In AutoCAD, Options, under "System," make sure it says "Current system pointing device" under "Current Pointing Device."

    You can also play with some of the settings under "Display" to speed up the graphics, though I doubt that is the slowdown on a machine like yours.

    I can't tell if you mean "All the other Windows programs work okay" or just the Mac stuff. You could play with the pointer speed in Windows. I seem to remember some wonkiness (like the speed getting stuck slow) that changing the settings, saving, and then changing them back again fixed - but I can't remember where that happened to me, if it was on a Mac or not.

    Finally, I don't think there is a separate "pointer speed" variable in AutoCAD, but I could be wrong. Good luck.
     
  7. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
  8. nyssa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #8
    hi all,

    sorry for tagging along this thread.
    just a quick one

    is it advisable for me to run parallel just for gaming? rather than bootcamp?
    just wanna know if i can do that. because im kinda sick of rebooting my mac all the time. after gaming.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    That depends on the game, I could run Command and Conquer quite okay via Parallels, but I wouldn't run something like COD in there.
     
  10. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    #10
    nyssa>

    Yeah it depends on the type of game you play. If it requires a lot of resources it will run like crap on virtual machine and you're better off bootcamping.
     
  11. nyssa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

Share This Page