Autodesk VIZ on a macbook

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dishwab, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. dishwab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #1
    I have a computer animation course this semester and would much rather work at home than in the school lab all the time.

    I need to run Autodesk VIZ, and I was wondering how it performs using bootcamp.

    I will be running it on a 13" macbook with 2 GB of RAM and 15 GB or so of free space using Windows XP

    will I be able to do this without lag? If anyone has any experience or advice, please let me know

    thanks, Joe
     
  2. Definity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    You're going to have a lot of problems running Autodesk Viz with that spec. I'm quite sure it requires a minimum resolution of 1240 x 1024 the last time I installed it a few versions ago when it was a product of discreet.

    Either way still, Autodesk Viz has been merged with 3DSMax.

    I've looked onto the Autodesk site, which clearly states:

    Best thing to do is try it. I wouldn't hold your hopes high though. The below for Viz 4 may offer solace.


     
  3. dishwab thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #3
    I dont think I will need 3ds Max just yet, our lab at school runs either VIZ 2006 or 2008. I'm going to try installing it soon and will just hope for the best.

    thanks for the quick response
     

Share This Page