Autohide Menu Bar in 10.10 WORKING

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by groove-agent, Oct 7, 2014.

  1. groove-agent macrumors 6502a

    groove-agent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #1
    I always thought the big white menu bar on the top of the screen ruined the overall appearance of the desktop wallpaper. If Apple is all about streamlining the interface, then you'd think auto-hiding the menu bar would already be an option. It seems only practical that it should should show up only when you need it.

    MenuandDockless is a plugin that works with the SIMBL framework that allows you to choose which apps will autohide the menu and dock. So far it works with most apps but not all. All Apple apps work with it, including Finder. It might have to do with what programming language it was created in. A developer might be able to support or refute this.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRN7nL-Z0Zs&feature=youtu.be
     
  2. airlied macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #2
    I saw your vid and it looks really great, exactly what I have been looking for for so long times. A little advice here: since the menu bar is so thin, the cursor may fly out of the area when trying to hoove over the bar and click something. If there is an option allowing you to set a delay time that would be perfect! And I will definitely purchase it if it's below $10.
     
  3. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    groove-agent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #3
    I've never had an issue with that. There is a delay but you can't edit it at the moment. I noticed there was also a feature to keep windows on top of other windows which could be useful in certain situations.

    After using the autohide feature I can honestly say I don't miss the menu bar and I love seeing my wallpaper fit the entire screen. I never realized how much I don't really look at it. I think Apple should consider this as a feature in future OS X builds.
     
  4. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    groove-agent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #4
    ... in addition to that, Apple should allow people to choose the highlight colour of the menus in order to personalize their UI experience. If my GF wants to have all her highlights pink to match her laptop sleeve, then let her. There's a spot in System Preferences ... General that allow you to change the colour but it doesn't affect menu bar selection.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #5
    Interesting that you have a problem with the menu bar, which I don't but I can see why you might want to hide it, and yet in the video you choose to cover up much more of that desktop wallpaper with Dashboard widgets, which I presume you've enabled by using Dashboard Developer Mode to bring permanently to the desktop.

    I personally also don't hide my dock, but on a 27" iMac its really not a big deal. I only sometimes hide it on my MacBook Air, but I use a lot of full screen apps and gesture between them, so that autohides the dock and menu bar for each of those apps.
     
  6. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    groove-agent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #6
    There are certain things I need to see all the time, and others I don't. It's all about user choice. I can easily hide the widgets if I wish, and apps will underlap the widgets whereas a menu bar will permanently consume desktop space.
     
  7. Motawa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #7
    awesome but why is there no option to hide menubar and show dock?
     
  8. tkermit macrumors 68040

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #8
    A visible menu bar is sort of necessary to tell you what app is frontmost, isn' it? Plus it provides feedback when shortcuts are pressed.
     
  9. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    groove-agent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #9
    You can do it, you just have to cmd+opt+d to reshow the dock and MenuandDockless will remember the configuration on a per app basis.

    ----------

    You're right, the menu bar does tell you which app is in use but usually you can tell by what you're clicking etc. If I need to find out, i can always run my mouse to the top to see the menu.

    After using MenuandDockless for a few days, I'm actually surprised that I don't miss the menu bar at all, nor do I use it as much as I thought I did.
     

Share This Page