Automatic Syncing Between Macs

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by navier-stokes, Mar 27, 2008.

1. navier-stokes macrumors newbie

As a PC user I am looking to convert to Mac soon and i'm thinking about either:

- A high spec 15" MBP
    - A low spec 15" MBP and 23" monitor
    - A low spec 24" iMac and low spec MBA

I'm looking for day to day portability (going to college etc) but I also prefer the idea of a much larger screen when back at home.

My question is regarding the last of the 3 options. Do Macs have the in built capability of syncing particular files and/or folders automatically between 2 Macs? Eg. say I did a days work on the MBA, brought it home and the data was automatically duplicated to the iMac when in wireless range of each other, and vice versa?

Or should I sacrifice portability and home power for less hassle and get a MBP with monitor?

2. yojimbo1 macrumors member

I use foldershare (foldershare.com) to sync files between my computers (a PC and a MBP)

3. Doogles macrumors newbie

I personally have a 13.3" macbook and am purchasing a higher spec 24" iMac. I also have .mac to sync all of my stuff between the two computers.

4. navier-stokes thread starter macrumors newbie

Is there not a size limit on the amount of data you can sync?

I've heard about Chronosync, is this what I need?

5. ChrisA macrumors G4

Yes. All Macs and for that matter all UNIX and Linux system come with a program called "rsync" that will do this. You can guess from the name "rsync" that it was designed to sync a Remote compter copying over only what has changed in a given set of folders.