Automating backups to external hard drive

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rema, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. rema macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #1
    hey all,

    i bought a external hard drive months ago and its just sits on my desk off i only used it once when i first got it,

    how can i get my mac and it to make weekly or daily backups of all my stuff or some of it i looked on mac 101 site but couldn't,

    i feel really bad as its just sitting there off, its a lacie porshe 320gb i got c2d white 20" iMac

    any help would be great

    cheers rema
     
  2. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #2
    Hi,

    Is your Mac running Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard?
     
  3. rema thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #3
    oh sorry forgot to mention that no its running tiger
     
  4. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #4
    The best advice is to upgrade to Leopard and use Time Machine.
     
  5. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #5
    Time machine is the best piece of Backup software I have ever used.

    If you don't want to upgrade then I used to use something called "Intego Personal Backup X4"

    I hope this helps.
     
  6. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #6
    Yeah, you could buy something like Intego (or ChronoSync which I use from time to time) but then you're at least half-way to the cost of the upgrade to Leopard. :)
     
  7. rema thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #7
    yea i was just dicussing leopord with one of my frieds whoes got it but i dont have money to get it know,

    i thought my mac using tiger could do it by it self with out any other applications
     
  8. rema thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
  9. Maui macrumors 6502a

    Maui

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #9
    If you are comfortable using Automator and Terminal, yes you can do it in Tiger.

    But, the advice to upgrade to Leopard is sound, for TM and other reasons.

    If you don't want either of those options, buy a program called SuperDuper, which will cost a chunk of what Leopard will cost you anyway.
     
  10. rema thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #10
    could you tell me more about using Automator and Terminal

    i will get leopard eventually but cant afford it now,

    cheers
     
  11. Wheelie4 macrumors regular

    Wheelie4

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #11
    CCC aka... Carbon Copy Cloner (free - donationware) can be setup to do scheduled backups of specific files/folders or a bootable clone of your Mac HD. (supports Tiger and Leopard)

    SuperDuper! (free and shareware) can clone your mac manually free or pay only a fraction of the cost for Leopard to have scheduling ability to smart backup a clone of your MacHD or smart backup specific files/folders. (still doesn't fully support Leopard yet but some claim to use it okay on Leopard).

    After 18 years of WinPC's I just switched to a Macbook 4 months ago so I'm not the one to provide steps to doing it. I fumbled through CCC to setup a scheduled User backup and bought SuperDuper to use for smart backups a clone of my MacHD (haven't used SuperDuper though since I upgraded to Leopard, waiting on update).
     
  12. rema thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #12
    thank you very much, i'm downloading ccc now and hopefully i can work out how to use it

    cheers rema
     
  13. joegomolski macrumors 6502

    joegomolski

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    So CA
    #13
    Automating backups to external hard drive

    SuperDupper, is gold. Nothing better.
     
  14. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Unfortunately the latest version is not fully Leopard compatible, and it corrupted my backup...
     
  15. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #15
    Carbon Copy Cloner is very good, I used it myself before I upgraded to Leopard.
     

Share This Page