Automator frustrations

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 1dterbeest, May 3, 2007.

  1. 1dterbeest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Waupun, WI
    #1
    I want to set my bittorrent program to lauch at night and close in the morning automatically so I'm not hogging my family's bandwidth all day. Automator has a command to launch an application but there is no command to close it!

    Am I missing something? Is there a better way to do this?
     
  2. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #2
    To close an app ...insert the "Run Applescript" automator action ....delete all of the "on run" "return input" stuff ..it isn't needed. Make the action one simple line...

    Tell application "theTorrentAppName" to quit

    ...replacing theTorrentAppName with the name of your torrent application
     
  3. numlock macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #3
    isnt it quite common now for torrent applications to allow you to set it up so it only downloads at a certain time of the day?

    couldnt there be complications with just quitting the application outright?
     
  4. 1dterbeest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Waupun, WI
    #4
    The torrent program i like doesn't have scheduling built in, and i always stop it by just quitting the program. it doesn't harm anything.
     
  5. 1dterbeest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Waupun, WI
    #5
    okay, so now i have a workflow that will close the bittorrent program and re-open it. How can I set them to do those functions at certain times of day?
     
  6. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #6
    iCal ...Save the workflow as an application and then set an alarm in iCal to "Open FIle" ...then choose that app
     
  7. 1dterbeest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Waupun, WI
    #7
    Thanks everyone, I think I have it all set up and ready now! I'll post here again if something goes wrong.
     

Share This Page