Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JackDaDancer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 2, 2004
Australia
I am sorry if this is a stupid question but I am brand new to Macs and need to know how I can view an avi file. Quicktime (the version that came with my Mac) doesn't seem to support the file type. Is there a general Media Player type tool that I can use?

Thanks

abhishekit

macrumors 65816
Nov 6, 2003
akron , ohio
JackDaDancer said:
I am sorry if this is a stupid question but I am brand new to Macs and need to know how I can view an avi file. Quicktime (the version that came with my Mac) doesn't seem to support the file type. Is there a general Media Player type tool that I can use?

Thanks
IMO. dont use windows media player, its crap and you wont need it. Download VLC , it would play almost everythiing, for the rest get Mplayer..
although i hv hardly ever needed mplayer..
cheers

blue&whiteman

macrumors 65816
Nov 30, 2003
with the use of 3 video apps I can play ANY file I would ever download.

vlc: plays almost everything but real media and is a great app to use as a kick back and watch player because the full screen is very good. plays all avi, almost all mpg and almost all wmv or asf.

mplayer: plays everything that vlc does and then some but full screen is not the best. I use this app to scrub through stuff as it does that well. also, I use it to play whatever vlc will not.

real one player: plays all real media files

use these 3 and you will never not be able to play any video.

~Shard~

macrumors P6
Jun 4, 2003
Yep, the above posters pretty much covered it all - I recommend VLC - I have yet to find a file I can't play with it! I also have MPlayer handy, and you could also use QuickTime, but only if you download some divx codecs for it and don't mind not being able to view things full screen (unless you have QT Pro).