AVI to FCE

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ercw, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. ercw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #1
    My boss gave me his "flip Video camera" (records in AVI) to edit some od his clips in FCE. Now, I already got the Xvid Codec componment so I can play the files in QT but is there any quick way around to convert these pesky AVI files to DV so I can import them in FCE? quick time pro?


    Thanks
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
  3. ercw thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
  4. iTeen macrumors 65816

    iTeen

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
  5. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
  6. iTeen macrumors 65816

    iTeen

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    #6
    thanks mucho


    jake
     
  7. ercw thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #7
    Ok so I dowmloaded StreamClip (sweet app)
    Here is what I didn't expect :
    -a 22MG Avi file becomes a 160MG DV file
    -When I try to play it in FCE, I have to render the audio because the audio wont play in the canvas.
    - I also can actual import the native AVI file in FCE but I noticed it is 30FPS as opposed as 29.97 in my sequence settings So, again , the Unlimited RT wont do and I have to render the whole thing b4 I can do editing which takes a long time and i,pairs the workflow of this project.

    hmmmm
     
  8. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #8
    Re file size: ... yeah, that's just the nature of DV.

    Re Audio: Known issue with final cut that Apple won't "fix". You might get around this by checking "resample audio to 48KHz" in MPEGStreamclip

    Re frame rate: How did you export the video in MPEGStreamclip?
    File-> Export to DV should let you specify NTSC 720x480 29.97 fps.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page