Avoid cellular data usage?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by viperguy, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. viperguy macrumors 6502

    viperguy

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #1
    Hello all, I just got my iPhone 3gs :p
    It looks like when no Wi-Fi is available, apps that go online automatically use the cellular network to transfer data.
    However, I don`t have a data plan and such usage could be very expensive...
    And I couldn`t find any settings to disable such data using.
    Am I missing something or is it a default that can`t be changed? ]
    Thanks!
     
  2. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    To stop it using cellular data, go into settings - general - network - cellular data network

    There you'll find the APN logon that it is using.

    Change the settings to something fictitious and it will not be able to get online.
     
  3. moneymaster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #3
    Call ATT and tell them that you want to block your internet usage for your line. That is what I did and it works great! I never get charged for anything at all.
     
  4. viperguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    viperguy

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #4
    Hmm.. when I get to network I don't see the last option u're saying... i have only
    Enable 3g
    Data Roaming
    Internet Tethering
    VPN
    Wi-Fi

    That might work, even though I'm not in the US, but I might give my local carrier a call later if nothing else works!
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    That only works with unlocked phones, locked phones have all the information automatically generated from the SIM.

    Just contact the provider to block all data on the line, or get a cheap data plan just to be on the safe side.

    TEG
     
  6. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #6
    My phone is not unlocked, I just got a new 3GS and decided to wait a bit before hacking it. I guess it must come from the Carrier file, and since O2 need you to be able to change this depending what contract you're on they must enable it in the carrier/config. Does the iphone configuration utility let you do this as well?
     
  7. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    In the U.S., make sure to call them on a cell phone other than your iPhone when you ask for the data block. Just pop the SIM card out and put it in an old (or a friend's) cell phone (unlocked or for AT&T).
     

Share This Page