AW2 Nike Plus Running App

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by SUMIMASN, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. SUMIMASN macrumors member

    SUMIMASN

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Location:
    Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Ive been trying to figure out after opening the Nike Plus Run Club App on my AW2 (and after navigating the app on my iPhone), how i can display 4 basic metrics on the AW2 screen at 1 time for during my run like how I believe the Stock running app displays: Distance, Total Time, Pace per km & Heart Rate. Ive search youtube and google for instructions and can't find an actual tutorial for customizing what is displaying the Nike Plus Running app for during my run. I see these metrics on my iPhone, but i want to see this on my AW2 during my run. Does anyone know how to get this to display in the Nike Plus Running App? Thanks
     
  2. section215 macrumors member

    section215

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I don't think it's possible. You can tap your finger on the main display and it should toggle between distance, pace, time and heart rate.

    That said.... NRC on Apple Watch is a disaster. After many years using the app on iPhone today was my first time trying to use it with Apple Watch and I just couldn't believe how poor the implementation was.
     
  3. SUMIMASN thread starter macrumors member

    SUMIMASN

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Location:
    Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
    #3
    It's bad enough having to slide the screen to the left before I get to a stop light with sweaty hands. Usually takes me a few attempts & I have to time it right. Was never a problem with my Garmin 235. The stock activity apps metrics are also very basic but at least the run screen displays the 4 basic things I need to see during my run.
     
  4. mitty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #4
    My guess would be that the reason the Nike+ series 2 watch has been delayed is because the app will get a massive update (which will include custom watch faces on the Nike+ model). I did order one, but decided in the end just to get the plain Space Grey Alu Series 2 instead, as I didn't want to wait. Personally I'm no at all fussed by not being in the Nike ecosystem and am far more interested in the pending release of the Runkeeper Series 2 GPS enabled app which is hopefully arriving shortly.
     
  5. section215 macrumors member

    section215

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    fingers crossed for a huge update....
     
  6. Juiceboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #6
    The nike watch got a recent update like "hey siri, start a run with Nike" and as i only just got my watch this week i thought i'd try my very first watch only run. It started up just fine. i was really dissapointed it only displayed one metric on screen and there was zero customisation. I was even more disapointed to find out that it didn't track any sort of GPS data. I won't make that mistake again. I doubt they will udpate anything until the Nike version comes out. I was the same and didn't want to wait and figured they were probably as sold out as the Space Black 42mm S2.
     
  7. jk1002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #7
    I was initially disappointed about the single metric as well, but while you run with it its actally hard to read more. THe display often switches off too fast for me that was the other issue.

    Is really not that great of a watch for fitness in my opinion and I am not even bothered wearing it anymore

    Most of features are half baked, i.e. My Uber pulled up and it notifies me but no information about car type and number plate which is a must in busy places.
     
  8. jthesssin macrumors regular

    jthesssin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    Matthews NC
    #8
    So I don't want to hijack the thread, but you guys seem pretty into the NRC+ app for Apple watch. Ive been using the Nike Run app, before it came Nike Run Club, and just purchased a second AW (Series 2) to use without a phone while running. I have noticed the following:
    1. With AW only and starting a run OUTSIDE, my run never shows a map of the run in NRC AFTER Im done. The phone used to show the map of the run with pacing, but with just the AW it only shows the weird amoeba looking pace circle.
    2. when starting a run on AW (no phone in sight) via NRC, then waiting for countdown to finish and showing the metrics screen, I will switch and ALSO start a run in the Activity app. When I do this, it either stops the NRC run, or just won't record it to NRC on the phone after I am done. This also works in reverse if I start a run in activity first, it never shows up in the activity app on the iPhone.
    I just did a 2 mile run today. 1 mile, followed by a pause press in NRC, (which stopped the Activity run), followed by another 1 mile run back home, where only the NRC registered a single 1 mile run and synced that into the activity app, but none of the 2 individual runs from activity nor is the first run in NRC showing up...
    Anyone else have ideas on how to relieve these 2 issues? All devices are current as far as software revisions both in app and device...
     
  9. mk313 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #9
    Are you using the Activity app, or the workouts app? I don't think you can actually start or end runs from within the Activity app, but I may be wrong on that.

    from reading the forums, I believe that runs taken using the Nike app will import into the Activity app, as will runs done in the workouts app. The only thing that doesn't move over is the map itself (that will only show up in the app it was recorded in). If you are trying to use the workout app, as well as the Nike app, that may be why you are only getting the amoeba circle. I've only gotten that one one run with my watch, but honestly, I don't remember how I started that run.

    From your 2 mile run today, it sounds like the Nike app worked as it should have, you ran a mile, then paused the run in Nike, and it recorded a 1 mile run when you finished. The activity app won't record any runs unless you are recording them in another app (nike, Strave, RunKeeper, Workouts app, etc).

    One thing you might want to verify is if in the Health app on your phone, make sure that Nike Run Club (under Sources) is set to read & write all of the data. I don't know that this would rectify anything, but it seems like it might help reconcile the data. I just checked mine & it is set so that NRC can read & write Active Energy, Heart Rate, Walking & Running distance & Workouts. I can see all of my Nike runs in the health app data on the phone, even though I do all my runs using only the Nike App on the watch.

    Good luck on figuring this out. I've really enjoyed using the NRC app on the Apple watch since I got mine a few months ago.
     
  10. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #10
    You can't use both simultaneously .. frankly there is no reason to since the NRC app will record the workout to your activity circles.

    Only one app can use the watches GPS at any given time. I would just use the NRC app, and not start the Workout app too .. not sure what you gain by doing so, and it is obviously causing a conflict.

    I have done over 70 runs with the NRC app standalone on the Series 2 and never had an occasion where the map didn't show on the phone or the activity didn't show in the rings.
     
  11. jthesssin macrumors regular

    jthesssin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    Matthews NC
    #11
    Its always been set to use the data, didn't start until I got the new watch and began running with just that... yesterday i ran with just RNC and no MANUAL pauses, just the auto pause during stops at traffic lights, and the map showed up...And the FULL distance...makes sense that only one app at a time can use GPS data though
    A little leery of doing a manual pause, as the last time I did it, it stopped the workout and only recorded half...
    of course, hopefully very soon ill get back to my normal 5-6 mile runs with no need to pause :) Thanks everybody
     

Share This Page