AW4 - I cannot take screenshot

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by edhchoe, Oct 1, 2018.

  1. edhchoe macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #1
    pressing the crown and power button simultaneously doesn't take the screenshot.
    Can you help please?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 1, 2018 ---
    Edit: I just figured it out.

    I had to enable take screenshot in the Watch App on the iPhone.
    I do not understand why it was disabled.
     
  2. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #2
    You have to turn it on in the settings.
     
  3. edhchoe thread starter macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #3
    Thank you.
    I don't know why it got turned off.
    I don't remember turning it off.
    Is OFF the default setting?
     
  4. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #4

    It was the default setting on S4. I don't remember if that was the case on the S0.
     
  5. edhchoe thread starter macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #5
    That's strange.
    I don't know why Apple thinks people will want that off to begin with.
     
  6. matrix07 macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    Off is the default since Apple use crown and side button for pausing workout.
     
  7. iBreatheApple macrumors 68030

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    I turned this off shortly after getting an S0. I took too many accidental shots when my wrist was bent.
     
  8. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    Amber you should send them an email!
     
  9. iamasmith macrumors 6502

    iamasmith

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #9
    It's ridiculously easy to end up with a ton of these by accident from hand position, glove wearing, putting on jackets with elasticated cuffs etc. and it's a seldom wanted feature for most folk so I think product management at Apple got it right to have this default off.
     
  10. jamets515 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #10
    Well, I prefer it on. I have beta access to a few AW apps and that's dependent on me giving good feedback on new releases, so screenshot is pretty important to me. It threw me off for a while, as I had to look up how to re-enable it, even when coming from an old AW S0 backup.
     
  11. macduke macrumors G4

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #11
    I think that's why I had turned it off at one point too, especially when wearing gloves and they get bunched up and press them. I turned it back on now because first of all I was just posting screenshots on here, and second of all because of the new recessed side button I think it's less likely to be accidentally triggered.
     

Share This Page

10 October 1, 2018