Awesome..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by coltongreen, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. coltongreen macrumors newbie

    coltongreen

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #1
    My wife and I just bought our first Mac yesterday, the 27" Core i7. We are extremely happy with the purchase and my wife already made the statement, we aren't going back to PC. The screen is phenomenal. Couldn't be happier.
    Any advice on an external for Time Machine?
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    I bought myself a 500gb seagate for one off newegg for 50usd. Works good enough for my needs. Time Machine is picky though, and will only do a full-fledged backup if you don't let it hasn't done an update backup in more than 10 days, so you gotta make sure it's wired up to do one every couple of days. :(
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    How much data do you have? Externals are rather cheap nowadays. I would get at least 1TB unless you want it to be 2.5" (to be used with a laptop). I bought a 2TB LaCie for 100€ few weeks ago. For backups, USB is completely fine so don't pay the hefty extra for FireWire 800 when you don't need it.
     
  4. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #4
    Since you already plopped down that much cash, spend a little more on the Time Capsule. Easy to setup and use. Pretty much never have to worry about after setting it up.
     
  5. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    I've always had decent luck with Western Digital drives.
     
  6. davids8477 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #6
    I agree with that - Time Capsule is easy a reliable - and its a great router!
     
  7. coltongreen thread starter macrumors newbie

    coltongreen

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for the tips. I was looking at time capsule, but my thing is how does it work with u-verse since u-verse also comes with a router? Seems kind of redundant. Can you partition time capsule?
     
  8. davids8477 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #8
    I too use Uverse, but just use their device as a modem not as a router. I have several computers hocked up to the TC so this gives me more flexibility and a better system.

    To do this I switched off the WiFi on the Uverse device and put the TC in the DMZ. So everything goes to the TC which does the management.
    Honestly cannot recall the exact process, but a Google search will reveal all.

    Yes you can partition the TC.
     
  9. davids8477 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #9
    OK I found the link to do this.

    http://www.sbbala.com/uverse/pg2.html
     
  10. coltongreen thread starter macrumors newbie

    coltongreen

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #10
    Thanks...

    Appreciate the info. I will have to do this. Starting to get ticked. My old WD MyBook external HDD is messing up on me and pretty much has my WHOLE LIFE on there. Music, pictures, all my photoshop, premiere and audition projects as well as personal financial stuff. When I plug it into the Mac, it takes forever to mount (if at all) and then dissappears shortly after. Doesn't show up in Finder either. I was starting to have issues with it on my old computer mounting and unmounting for no reason, as well as not showing up in Windows Explorer a couple of weeks before this purchase. What do y'all recommend? Thanks again.
     
  11. davids8477 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #11
    I assume its formatted for MAC? If not then ignore the 2nd and 3rd options below.

    If it has all that important stuff then first I would try to copy it off to another drive ASAP.

    Next I'd open disk utility and see if that sees the drive - if it does then try to REPAIR DISK. That may fix the issue - or not.

    If that does not work - and you could not copy the data off - then I'd get a copy of DISK WARRIOR - its pricey at $100 - but it saved by DVD collection for me (2TB) so I think its worth it.

    Good luck
     
  12. Dute macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #12
    The "Windows Explorer" comment makes me nervous.

    Is this drive formatted for NTFS or HFS+? NTFS is traditionally used for Windows systems, and HFS+ (Also called Mac OSx Journaled) for OSx. OSx doesn't like NTFS , and Windows doesn't like HFS+. There are work-arounds for both platforms, but they are messy.

    FAT32 can be read/written on both OS's, but with the limitation of 2GB file size limit.

    Some info about NTFS on OSx here: http://www.lifehack.org/articles/li...write-ntfs-windows-partition-on-mac-os-x.html
     

Share This Page