B&W G3 Issue

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by masterjedi73, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. masterjedi73 macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #1
    It's a rev.2 300mhz with 128 mb Ram.

    It had 8.6 on it, and I started to upgrade to 9.0 last night and the power went out! Now it won't boot, and I don't have a bootable CD. How can I create one?
     
  2. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #2
    it would be piracy but you could download it from a torrent site and burn it to a cd using disc utility, but i can't advise you to do that as it would be against forum rules
     
  3. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #3
    How do you create a bootable CD with diskutility?
     
  4. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #4
    open disk utility (in /applications/utilities), drag the disc image to the sidebar, click on the image in the sidebar, go to the images menu and click burn,insert a blank cd, click burn
     
  5. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #5
    yea....i did that. this computer isn't reading any of the cds.
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    You can try to pass it using MDD's optical drive in target disk mode, if you got bootable CD/DVD now (and FW cable). If your Smurf supports TDM ofc (I'm not sure).
    Other way is to swap optical between MDD and Smurf.
     
  7. kilowattradio macrumors regular

    kilowattradio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    My experience is that your going to need to buy one. All the current ones on piratebay are borked. Put an ad on craigslist and see what turns up.
    :eek:
     
  8. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #8
    The B&W still won't boot.

    I have a set of bootable OSX CDs (10.0) and they work because I tried it on my iBook Clamshell to be sure.

    any ideas?

    Matt
     
  9. kilowattradio macrumors regular

    kilowattradio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    I would guess the CD-ROM drive has gone bad. See if you can install a replacement.
    :confused:
     
  10. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #10
    I've got a few laying around here. Do you think the pioneer SuperDrive from my g5 would work? It's a 111.
     
  11. kilowattradio macrumors regular

    kilowattradio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    If it fits in the slot then give it a try. Just don't try to force it in.
    :eek:
     
  12. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #12
    Well...that didn't work. Same result.

    I think it's dead. :(
     
  13. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #13
    What exactly symptoms are? It powers on or not? Chime or not? It gives image on screen? Or its only issue is not reading CDs?
    "Won't boot" could mean few things... provide more details please.
     
  14. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #14
    It has the "normal" chime and just goes to the flashing question mark and folder. Fans are spinning and I have video. I installed OS 9 onto a hard drive via my G5 and installed that. It still won't boot. I tried finding a way to "bless" the system folder, but I couldn't figure it out.

    There are led lights on the mobo, too. I changed HD cables.
     
  15. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
  16. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #16
    Yep. I tried all that. I think it's dead. So sad....
     
  17. drewdle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    #17
    There should be five green LED on the logic board once the system gets past the chime. If they're not all lit up, or they're lighting up red, it indicates a problem with the subsystem nearest to the LED. You could try swapping things like the memory, do a hard PRAM reset (two buttons on the logic board that are near the second HD bay, hold them both down for over 10 seconds). Aside from that, it sounds bad.

    That is unfortunate. Mine is under the weather too. It won't recognize memory it previously did, won't boot at random, etc. I get all the green LEDs, but I still think it's logic board related, as I've swapped out everything else, like you have.
     
  18. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #18
    Thanks for your help. It was a bad ram stick. lol.

    now it works.

    :)
     

Share This Page