B2: Blank Screen Coming out of Standby

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by grinny11, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. grinny11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #1
    Just wanted to see if anyone else has the same issue and maybe a solution.

    On a 2016 Macbook here.
     
  2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #2
    Yup. 2015 retina MacBook Pro.

    Not sure what's causing it. I have to reboot by holding the power button every time.
     
  3. twentworth12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
  4. blasto2236, Jul 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016

    blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #4
    Same thing here on a 2015 13" rMBP. I have tried resetting the SMC and NVRAM, same result. Interestingly enough, this issue doesn't happen in Safe Mode. I thought it might be one of my login items, so I removed all of them and restarted in regular boot, and the issue still occurs.

    It must be something wrong with a kernel extension, as those are also disabled in Safe Mode.

    Edited to add that I hope someone finds a resolution for this soon other than rolling back to El Cap. DP1 was super stable as a daily driver, but this will be difficult to deal with for 2 weeks while we wait for a fix.
     
  5. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #5
    I was waiting for B2 to upgrade, but this one is a deal breaker for me. I sleep my 2015 MBP several times a day, and can't imagine having to reboot every time. I guess I'll stay on El Capitan for the time being.

    :(
     
  6. mildocjr macrumors 65816

    #6
    Had an issue in Beta 1 where waking my iMac from sleep would not turn on the second monitor attached via thunderbolt. I know this doesn't have anything to do with the issues on the MBP but it matches the title.
     
  7. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #7
    I would recommend hanging back until the Public Beta. Hopefully this issue is fixed quickly as it is pretty major, but who knows?
     
  8. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #8
    I have the MacID App, and it locks and unlocks my MBP with proximity bluetooth from my iPhone, but has been a bit unstable since iOS 10 Beta. Today with B2 still doesn't connect all the time, so I disabled auto lock/unlock. Adding this issue to that would be a nightmare.
     
  9. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #9
    Is this issue for folks who put their machines to sleep, or just turn off the display after a certain period of time/hot corner? No issues on my late-2013 rMBP 13", but then again I only ever turn the display off, as opposed to a full sleep.
     
  10. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #10
    This happens to me whether I manually put the display to sleep from the Apple menu, or I allow the timed sleep to kick in.
     
  11. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #11
    We should try to figure out what causes it.
    I have the issue.
    I use BetterTouchTool, MacID, and SMCFan control.
    I have an Apple Watch on my iCloud account.
    I'm not a registered developer but acquired the update through the Mac App Store.
    I'm not using best for retina resolution (1440p)

    If you have the issue maybe mention which of these apply to you and other things you might think cause it?
     
  12. blasto2236, Jul 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016

    blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #12

    I have a whole mess of login items, including BTT, but disabling all of them and restarting the Mac with no applications running has the same effect.

    I do not have an Apple Watch
    I am a registered developer
    I use the standard resolution

    I'm going to test in another user account and report back.

    Edited: I created a new user account with no login items or startup programs whatsoever. Issue still persists. Since it does not happen in Safe Mode, I am convinced it is a kernel extension (which are also disabled in Safe Mode) that is causing the issue.

    Edit: FIXED!!!

    So it was a kernel extension, in my case from Duet display, which was installed on my Mac but not running. To see what non-Apple kernel extensions are running on your Mac, enter the following in Terminal:

    kextstat | grep -v com.apple

    For me, it showed Duet Display as the sole culprit. Uninstalled the program, restarted the Mac. Problem solved.
     
  13. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #13
    Uninstalling Duet fixed the issue for me too. Thanks.
     
  14. pizzzle, Jul 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016
  15. twentworth12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
  16. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #16
    Well, I was having the issue in El Capitan, go figure. But now I disabled hibernation mode. I'll wait until the OP and the others who reported the issue report that is really fixed, and maybe I'll upgrade. Since is my daily driver, I'm hesitant to upgrade a perfectly stable machine.
     
  17. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #17
    I definitely understand your hesitation. Difficult to say what could potentially end up disrupting your workflow. So far, the only two major issues I've encountered have been resolved using just a bit of basic troubleshooting.

    Now if Bartender 2 would just get their beta out, I would be in business, lol.
     
  18. dor2201 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
  19. martinocando, Jul 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016

    martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #19
    +1
    I have a mix of apps which I can't live without, like the full adobe suite, specially Photoshop, Illustrator, Lightroom and In Design. I heard there are some issues with In Design, so that will hold be back.
    I also need Fusion 8, Final Cut Pro X and Screen Flow, and some java based DB managers, which I believe they work ok.

    As for the utilities other than Bartender 2, I use ControlPlane and Sync Folders Pro, but I could live without them for a few weeks.

    Chrome is a huge one, since is the only browser I can use at work.
     
  20. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #20
    Have you tried running that Terminal command to see if any other non-Apple kernel extensions are running?
     
  21. jhfenton macrumors 6502a

    jhfenton

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    Norwood, Ohio
    #21
    I had an ultimately-related problem upon installing Sierra b2: none of my external USB drives would appear. 4 drives. All missing.

    My first hint was using the IO Registry Explorer. There were Blackberry USB drivers. Reading this thread, I saw that there was an active Blackberry USB Driver kext (and Duet).

    Apparently, when I last had a work Blackberry several years ago, the darn Blackberry software buried stuff all over my system. I "uninstalled" the software, but it left droppings behind that were still there 4-5 years later.

    I had fallen back to b1, but after purging all the Blackberry droppings everywhere--and uninstalling Duet--I'm reupdating to Sierra with no expectation of problems.

    So apparently Sierra b2 has some added intolerance/incompatibility with foreign kexts.
     
  22. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #22
    Haha, yeah as a Chrome user I would definitely not update.
     
  23. grinny11 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #23
    Thanks. Seems to be working for me too after uninstalling duet.
     
  24. martinocando macrumors regular

    martinocando

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #24
    Thanks for the warning. Definitively letting this one pass too. Sigh!
     
  25. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #25
    Have you considered installing on a small partition so you can just play around with it while keeping it separate from everything else? I've done that in the past when I was hesitant. Luckily these days, all my work is done from a company owned computer that I can rely on, and my personal one really is just for fun. So I threw caution to the wind :)
     

Share This Page